Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 29 Oct 2017 (Sunday) 13:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sigma 8-16mm on 80D? Anyone?

 
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,710 posts
Likes: 2616
Joined Oct 2015
Post edited 8 months ago by Bassat.
     
Oct 29, 2017 13:02 |  #1

I have a Sigma 12-24 II that is just wonderful on my 6D. I am currently down-sizing gear and this lens is the last thing keeping me in full frame. The thought is to trade/sell it for a Sigma 8-16mm lens. The problem? My 12-24 II just refuses to focus accurately or consistently on my 80D. Yes, I've tried MFA, twice. Total fail. In another thread, someone suggested the 12-24 may be old enough that Sigma has not re-vamped its AF for the newer 80D. The 8-16 is even older. I am afraid it won't focus on my 80D. As expected, 80D/12-24 works in LiveView, but I don't want to be committed to that.

Does anyone use the Sigma 8-16mm on an 80D? Does it focus properly? I am especially concerned at and/or close to MFD. Also taking suggestions for an alternative lens. Thanks.

EDIT:
I've managed to find a bunch of nice photos made with the 80D/8-16. No mention of focus with any of them. Perhaps I need to consider the possibility of LiveView.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
FEChariot
Goldmember
Avatar
4,418 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 336
Joined Sep 2011
     
Oct 30, 2017 05:36 |  #2

Do you need the 8mm difference from 10mm? Because there isn’t much else wider apart from fisheye type options.


Canon 7D/350D, Σ17-50/2.8 OS, 18-55IS, 24-105/4 L IS, Σ30/1.4 EX, 50/1.8, C50/1.4, 55-250IS, 60/2.8, 70-200/4 L IS, 85/1.8, 100/2.8 IS L, 135/2 L 580EX II, 430EX II * 2, 270EX II.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,710 posts
Likes: 2616
Joined Oct 2015
     
Oct 30, 2017 05:58 |  #3

FEChariot wrote in post #18484482 (external link)
Do you need the 8mm difference from 10mm? Because there isn’t much else wider apart from fisheye type options.

8mm is just a bit wider on apsc than 12mm on FF. I like and use the 12mm end of my 12-24 on the 6D.

I'm not sure what you are referring to with 10mm. As close as I can get to 10mm is my Tokina 11-20mm. There is a huge difference between 8mm and 11mm on apsc. Roughly the same a 12mm to 17mm on FF.

I just sold the Sigma 15mm FE and Rokinon 12mm FE because I like the rectilinear projection of the Sigma 12-24 much better. The 15mm FE is about as wide as the Sigma at 12mm.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kmilo
Senior Member
Avatar
261 posts
Likes: 266
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Albany, NY
     
Oct 30, 2017 06:08 |  #4

Sadly, I can't help regarding the sigma, but my Canon 10-22 has proven itself to be one of my all time favorite lenses. I know you were asking about the Sigma, just throwing more option out there.

IMAGE: https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7384/9622440863_ec6f0e5f1a_b.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/fEiw​qP  (external link) IMG_2015 (external link) by Kris Milo (external link), on Flickr

Kris
Insulting critiques always welcomed. flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,000 posts
Likes: 485
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited 8 months ago by John from PA.
     
Oct 30, 2017 06:08 |  #5

Not that is specifically addresses a focusing issue, but do you have the latest firmware (1.02)? Even if you do, it might also be worthwhile to reflash the firmware. There are more and more cases in the forums of strange issues being taken care of by a reflash.

You can download it at https://www.usa.canon.​com …subtab=download​s-firmware (external link).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,710 posts
Likes: 2616
Joined Oct 2015
     
Oct 30, 2017 06:16 |  #6

John from PA wrote in post #18484502 (external link)
Not that is specifically addresses a focusing issue, but do you have the latest firmware (1.02)? Even if you do, it might also be worthwhile to reflash the firmware. There are more and more cases in the forums of strange issues being taken care of by a reflash.

You can download it at https://www.usa.canon.​com …subtab=download​s-firmware (external link).

Just checked. I do have 1.02 installed. The focus issue with the 12-24 on the 80D is just about irrelevant. It isn't wide enough. Besides, I've already got the Tokina 11-20, which does focus, but again, isn't wide enough.

I'm looking for confirmation that PDAF works with the 80D/8-16 combo.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
33,400 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3633
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
     
Oct 30, 2017 08:34 |  #7

I am not sure how there can really be a focusing issue with this lens, as everything would be in focus. The DOF of such wide angles, even on APS-C, is huge, and it would be difficult to do anything to adjust focusing, even AFMA wouldn't add anything to the equation really.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,710 posts
Likes: 2616
Joined Oct 2015
Post edited 8 months ago by Bassat.
     
Oct 30, 2017 15:17 |  #8

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18484547 (external link)
I am not sure how there can really be a focusing issue with this lens, as everything would be in focus. The DOF of such wide angles, even on APS-C, is huge, and it would be difficult to do anything to adjust focusing, even AFMA wouldn't add anything to the equation really.

True... enough. Most of my stuff with lenses this wide is f/5.6-8, and focused at 3'. 2' to infinity looks good like that. I used a Rokinon 12mm FE with good effect like that. Problem is that from time to time, I like to use the lens wide open, focused at or near MFD. I get by with LiveView, I suppose, but I'm not used to it. PDAF that works would be handy.

I am primarily concerned because the 80D cannot focus the 12-24II. The 8-16 is older. Legitimate concern?


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FEChariot
Goldmember
Avatar
4,418 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Likes: 336
Joined Sep 2011
     
Oct 30, 2017 17:04 |  #9

Bassat wrote in post #18484494 (external link)
8mm is just a bit wider on apsc than 12mm on FF. I like and use the 12mm end of my 12-24 on the 6D.

I'm not sure what you are referring to with 10mm. As close as I can get to 10mm is my Tokina 11-20mm. There is a huge difference between 8mm and 11mm on apsc. Roughly the same a 12mm to 17mm on FF.

I just sold the Sigma 15mm FE and Rokinon 12mm FE because I like the rectilinear projection of the Sigma 12-24 much better. The 15mm FE is about as wide as the Sigma at 12mm.

I guess my point is that it really doesn’t matter how well the focusing is, if you need 8mm wide on crop, you really only have one option in the 8-16 especially if you want rectilinear.


Canon 7D/350D, Σ17-50/2.8 OS, 18-55IS, 24-105/4 L IS, Σ30/1.4 EX, 50/1.8, C50/1.4, 55-250IS, 60/2.8, 70-200/4 L IS, 85/1.8, 100/2.8 IS L, 135/2 L 580EX II, 430EX II * 2, 270EX II.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,710 posts
Likes: 2616
Joined Oct 2015
     
Oct 30, 2017 17:11 |  #10

FEChariot wrote in post #18484909 (external link)
I guess my point is that it really doesn’t matter how well the focusing is, if you need 8mm wide on crop, you really only have one option in the 8-16 especially if you want rectilinear.

Well said. I hadn't thought of that. It is the only option.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
33,400 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3633
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
Post edited 8 months ago by TeamSpeed. (3 edits in all)
     
Oct 30, 2017 17:29 |  #11

Bassat wrote in post #18484806 (external link)
True... enough. Most of my stuff with lenses this wide is f/5.6-8, and focused at 3'. 2' to infinity looks good like that. I used a Rokinon 12mm FE with good effect like that. Problem is that from time to time, I like to use the lens wide open, focused at or near MFD. I get by with LiveView, I suppose, but I'm not used to it. PDAF that works would be handy.

I am primarily concerned because the 80D cannot focus the 12-24II. The 8-16 is older. Legitimate concern?

My SL2 has no issues with the 8-16. I am not sure whether that helps you though. :) I don't think the 7D2 has any issues either.

EDIT: Nope, works on all 3 of the cameras.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,710 posts
Likes: 2616
Joined Oct 2015
Post edited 8 months ago by Bassat.
     
Oct 31, 2017 00:52 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #12

Thanks. Helpful. SL2 is newer than 80D. Should be fine.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
Avatar
17,828 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 1674
Joined Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
     
Oct 31, 2017 01:10 |  #13

what exactly is your issue with the 12-24mm on the 80D? does it not even achieve focus, or is the focus just off?

i've never heard of any issues with the 8-16mm, works fine on my 70D...but i've also never really heard of any issues with the 12-24mm either...so maybe it's just your lens?


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
THREAD ­ STARTER
"I am still in my underwear."
Avatar
7,710 posts
Likes: 2616
Joined Oct 2015
     
Oct 31, 2017 01:18 as a reply to  @ DreDaze's post |  #14

Lens is perfect on 6d. Erratic on 80d. Mfa does not help.


Tom

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
33,400 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3633
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
     
Oct 31, 2017 05:31 as a reply to  @ Bassat's post |  #15

Works on the 5d4 as well, but as a 16mm prime...


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

8,153 views & 2 likes for this thread
Sigma 8-16mm on 80D? Anyone?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Audii-Dudii
354 guests, 267 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.