Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 25 Jan 2018 (Thursday) 18:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

100-400mm basic questions

kat.hayes
166 posts
Joined Mar 2012

Jan 25, 2018 18:35 |  #1

I've never worked with one of these before.

1. Do you need a tripod when shooting with one of these for either photos or videos?

2. How well does this lens work with creating a bokeh effect behind the subject?

Thanks.

sponsored links
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,003 posts
Joined Dec 2006

Jan 25, 2018 19:26 |  #2

You don't need a tripod, just keep in mind the old 1/focal length rule of thumb. The IS on the original 100-400 gets you a couple stops but you still need to pay attention to your shutter speed.

gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,003 posts
Joined Dec 2006

Jan 25, 2018 19:35 |  #3

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/Other/Tiffany/i-7Z6jF3r/0/29cd35e1/X3/IMG_8688-X3.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://kevin-jones.smugmug.com/Othe​r/Tiffany/i-7Z6jF3r/A  (external link)

It can give pleasing bokeh, longer lenses give more blur but it's not necessary a bokeh machine like some primes.

Tom ­ Reichner
"I am a little creepy"
12,154 posts
Gallery: 140 photos
Best ofs: 1
Joined Dec 2008
Post edited 6 months ago by Tom Reichner.

Jan 25, 2018 19:42 |  #4

kat.hayes wrote in post #18548944 (external link)
I've never worked with one of these before.

Are you asking about the older 100-400mm I.S., popularly called the "version 1"?