Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 07 Feb 2018 (Wednesday) 12:10
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon EOS Movie Utility?

 
cristphoto
Senior Member
874 posts
Likes: 35
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Maryland
     
Feb 07, 2018 12:10 |  #1

Has anyone used EOS Movie Utility (comes on software disk with camera) to splice together two or more movie files into one movie? I read the documentation and seemingly did as directed but can't make this happen. Any helpful advice to make this happen? Thanks.


5D MKIV, 5D MKIII, 1D MKIV, 24L II, 35L, 50L, 85LIS, 100LIS Macro, 135L, 300LIS, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200LIS, 100-400LIS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,060 posts
Likes: 502
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited 6 months ago by John from PA. (5 edits in all)
     
Feb 07, 2018 14:14 |  #2

A couple of things.

First there is a User Manual for the movie utility at http://gdlp01.c-wss.com …Instruction_Man​ual_EN.pdf (external link). It may however be the same as you have already read.

The latest version of the Canon utility is at https://www.canon-europe.com …07%20(64-bit)&language=EN (external link). It is possible the disk version that came with your camera isn't the latest/greatest.

Also check the thread at https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1424393 and specifically the OP comments. He states (in part)

Second, it will only merge clips from the 1Dc or the 70D Mk II.

That was written in March 2015 so check your equipment and maybe make sure you have the most recent version of software.

Also, in case you aren't aware, in Windows, somewhat dependent on the version there is an application called Windows Movie Maker or Windows Live Movie Maker that enables you to merge clips. In Mac, it is called iMovie, or something very close to that.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cristphoto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
874 posts
Likes: 35
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Maryland
     
Feb 07, 2018 20:10 as a reply to  @ John from PA's post |  #3

Thanks for the response. I do have the latest software and documentation. I talked to Canon tech support and they stated the program only splices files that hit the 4 gig limit. My needs are to splice together 3-5 minute clips so the program does nothing for me. I will look into the Windows program. Again thanks.


5D MKIV, 5D MKIII, 1D MKIV, 24L II, 35L, 50L, 85LIS, 100LIS Macro, 135L, 300LIS, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200LIS, 100-400LIS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2chesapeakes
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
13 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 18
Joined Jan 2010
     
Feb 08, 2018 08:23 as a reply to  @ cristphoto's post |  #4

VSDC is free and I have used it to do what your are trying to do and it is capable of much moire.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cristphoto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
874 posts
Likes: 35
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Maryland
     
Feb 08, 2018 09:13 |  #5

I was able to download the Windows Movie Maker program. Quick, easy and free. It stitches together clips and much more. I love Canon but their software can sometimes be so annoying.


5D MKIV, 5D MKIII, 1D MKIV, 24L II, 35L, 50L, 85LIS, 100LIS Macro, 135L, 300LIS, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200LIS, 100-400LIS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,766 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 417
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Feb 08, 2018 10:20 |  #6

cristphoto wrote in post #18558954 (external link)
Thanks for the response. I do have the latest software and documentation. I talked to Canon tech support and they stated the program only splices files that hit the 4 gig limit. My needs are to splice together 3-5 minute clips so the program does nothing for me. I will look into the Windows program. Again thanks.

It doesn't even do that unless you have one of the right models of camera. Bleah.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

900 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon EOS Movie Utility?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Bill_NY
728 guests, 340 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.