Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Camera Vs. Camera 
Thread started 21 Feb 2018 (Wednesday) 00:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Replacing My G1X M2

hemang
105 posts
Joined Sep 2009

Feb 21, 2018 00:51 |  #1

I have earlier used G1X M1 and was using the G1X M2 since past few years but it's got damaged and I need to replace it, hence need some suggestion.

I am just a regular family photographer, mostly taking pictures during family trips. I like to take potraits (bokeh effect) and normally take pictures of places / monuments along with family members. The best memory of any place is with us in the picture. Also like to take pictures of nature and landscape.

Having used SLR cameras in the past, I would like to get good quality pictures. I opted for the G1X as I was tired of lugging the SLR along, so I am not very enthusiastic about large size. I was very happy with the image quality of the Canon, I like it's neutral colors. Only drawback was slow focus and no zoom to speak of.

Now I need a replacement

I am not sure I would like to use a DSLR due to large size but mirrorless cameras seem interesting.

I am looking at

Canon EOS M3

Canon EOS M100

Sony Alpha A6000Y with 16-50 and 55-210mm lenses. Again I am not a big fan of interchanging lenses but the camera has very good reviews

I also liked the specs of Sony Alpha A68K with 18-135mm lens. Is more expensive than I had budgeted but seems to be ideal combination.

I don't really need 4K video or touch screen or fancy WiFi / NFC. Just need a good image quality better than G1X.