Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 22 Feb 2018 (Thursday) 14:46
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Anyone made the switch to a mirrorless?

deronsizemore
449 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Joined Dec 2010

Feb 22, 2018 14:46 |  #1

I realize this may be the wrong place to post this as there's a lot of pros here and I doubt many pros are using a mirrorless camera. That said, I'm not a pro. It had crossed my mind a few years ago to maybe give it a shot, but between full-time job, family and my golf addiction, I just don't have time for that.

I currently have a 5DMII, 85mm 1.8, 40mm 2.8 and a Tamron 70-300 4-5.6. Given that I really only take photos of my kids and when we go on vacation, lugging this big 5DMII around along with the lenses, flash, etc., is a pain.

It looks like I can get a Fuji X-T1 right now for fairly cheap and I'm sure it would suffice for my needs. I'm just curious if anyone has experience with it (or mirrorless in general)? What do you like/dislike? How is ISO performance compared to the 5DMII?

Thanks

http://www.famsnap.com (external link)
Fuji X-T1 | Fuji 18-55 f/2.8-4 | Fuji 35 f/1.4
500px (external link) | Flickr (external link)

sponsored links
sporadic
559 posts
Gallery: 55 photos
Joined May 2008

Feb 22, 2018 15:25 |  #2

Do it and don't look back!

Fuji X-T1 | X-T2 | 35/1.4 | 10-24 | 18-55 | 55-200 | 50-140 | Rokinon 8/2.8II Fisheye | Rokinon 12/2
7D | 300/4 L IS

Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
40,183 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2005