Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Mar 2018 (Tuesday) 19:33
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1DX vs 7D2 my little observation

Milutiche
812 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Joined Jul 2010

Mar 06, 2018 19:33 |  #1

I've been running 7D2's for nearly 3 years and have just picked up a used 1DX, I thought I'd head into my back yard and take a few photos with both bodies across all of my lenses just to see how they compare.

In every situation the photo on from the 7D2 was better when cropping the 1DX photo to the same size
Note: this test was done in good light with iso set to 100.

I guess my simple observation is this,
when shooting in good light i'll be running the following combinations

7d2 - 300 f2.8
1dx - 70-200f 2.8
7d2 - 24-70 or 8-15

In poor light I'll probably go for this combo

1dx - 300 f 2.8
7d2 - 70-200 f2.8
7d2 - 24-70 or 8-15

I'd be interested to hear others opinions if you have both bodies

www.actionimages.net.n​z
Gear List
Sports Photos on Facebook (external link)
Sports Photos on Instagram (external link)

sponsored links
johnf3f
Goldmember
3,866 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Apr 2010

Mar 06, 2018 19:57 |  #2

I have found that my 7D2 can outcrop my 1DX - but those occasions are rare and then only on my 300 F2.8 L IS and 800 F5.6 L IS not my other lenses. The vast majority of the time the 7D2 stays in the house, it is a great camera but can't live with my 1DX most of the time.