Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 28 May 2018 (Monday) 10:09
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Is auto ISO really auto?

 
Bardi
Member
Avatar
101 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 62
Joined May 2018
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
     
May 28, 2018 10:09 |  #1

Background: New guy. Shooting for about 5 full months. Have learned a ton, but still new guy. I started with a Canon T2i then just shifted recently to a 40D.

When I shoot auto ISO on the 40D, it seems its always at 400, regardless to whats going on. On the T2i there seemed to be tons of movement as the situation changed. I noticed this morning while shooting some flowers, that the ISO was repeatedly at 400.

Is this a camera thing? (Mine is pretty old) A technique thing? (I am the new guy) Or something different all together.

Curious now if I should also come off of Auto WB............


Thanks in advance


Gear List
Critique welcome. Editing ok. Thanks for looking

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
nqjudo
Goldmember
Avatar
2,990 posts
Likes: 903
Joined Apr 2007
     
May 28, 2018 10:25 |  #2

What is your maximum ISO set to in your auto ISO menu?


No photographer is as good as the simplest camera. - Edward Steichen.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregsiem
Goldmember
Avatar
1,038 posts
Gallery: 57 photos
Likes: 3864
Joined May 2008
Location: Toronto
     
May 28, 2018 10:26 |  #3

Bardi wrote in post #18634380 (external link)
Background: New guy. Shooting for about 5 full months. Have learned a ton, but still new guy. I started with a Canon T2i then just shifted recently to a 40D.

When I shoot auto ISO on the 40D, it seems its always at 400, regardless to whats going on. On the T2i there seemed to be tons of movement as the situation changed. I noticed this morning while shooting some flowers, that the ISO was repeatedly at 400.

Is this a camera thing? (Mine is pretty old) A technique thing? (I am the new guy) Or something different all together.

Curious now if I should also come off of Auto WB............


Thanks in advance

What conditions, speed and aperture are you shooting at? It should move unless you are at the limit

I use AWN (shooting in raw) and adjust WB afterward in post processing if necessary.


_____________
Greg
7D II / 10-22 / 85 / 100-400L / Sigma 150-600 C / 430 EX II
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bardi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
101 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 62
Joined May 2018
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
     
May 28, 2018 11:07 |  #4

nqjudo wrote in post #18634389 (external link)
What is your maximum ISO set to in your auto ISO menu?


Gregsiem wrote in post #18634390 (external link)
What conditions, speed and aperture are you shooting at? It should move unless you are at the limit

I use AWN (shooting in raw) and adjust WB afterward in post processing if necessary.

I can't believe that didn't dawn on me! Thank you two. I just started L + RAW this morning. I don't have any post processing software at the moment, and not sure what my basic laptop can handle, so never felt the need to shoot in RAW. My laptop does have some basic filter type things that I have been using. SO many of my shots have been taken with the meter in the middle, but come out so dark. I think I need lots more practice!


Gear List
Critique welcome. Editing ok. Thanks for looking

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
Senior Member
Avatar
333 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 163
Joined Oct 2017
     
May 28, 2018 11:45 |  #5

Too much to cover in one thread, but congrats for having the sutterbug illness..

In reality, just shoot RAW.. you can tweak your exposure and WB to suite. YMMV.

If your running Windows 10, you can likely see the thumbnail preview of the RAW file.
If not, you CAN download and install the DNG CODEC to your Windows OS and view
the thumbnail.

See last link in the forum thread, this is the one I downloaded and installed:
https://forums.adobe.c​om/thread/2378867 (external link)


Affinity Photo is $50, I have switched away from PS to Affinity, it allows me to do HDR, lots of tweaking etc..
without spending a lot of extra money. Also, it supports PS plugins.. you can download the NIK filters
from the Google version and use them in Affinity to really add some artistic spark! NIK/Google filters
are *free*. (There are a boat load of Affinity tutorials on Youtube)

https://www.google.com​/nikcollection/ (external link)

YMMV, but I give up on manufacturer's RAW files, I convert everything to DNG now and run off that,
Affinity (and almost every software worth a hoot) reads DNG just fine, I dont loose any of the data
that I care about nor any of the dynamic range. DNG is just simpler to live with. YMMV.

Some light reading here:
https://en.wikipedia.o​rg/wiki/Digital_Negati​ve (external link)

DNG converter is free from Adobe:
https://helpx.adobe.co​m …/adobe-dng-converter.html (external link)


Your original question: Your ISO is set to AUTO but always shoots at 400.
I will yield to a Cannonite to give specific guidance but if you are shooting manual and
specifying aperture and shutter speed with AUTO ISO, the ISO should adjust
depending on your light.

With my D7500, I do this regularly and have been VERY happy with the results!
Sometimes you want a little bit of auto, but not with shutter or aperture, at this
time the AUTO ISO is a great tool!


If I only helped a little, I did my duty..
Regards, Andrew


"Camera rich, Cash poor"
http://shutterklick.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
Senior Member
Avatar
333 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 163
Joined Oct 2017
Post edited 5 months ago by ShutterKlick.
     
May 28, 2018 11:48 |  #6

This image was slightly massaged with Affinity in HDR and tone adjustment. Enjoy.

Inside an N&W mail car

Nikon D7500 with Tokina 11-16 f2.8

IMAGE: https://farm1.staticflickr.com/832/41938087631_3286599faa_b.jpg

"Camera rich, Cash poor"
http://shutterklick.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2725
Joined Oct 2015
     
May 28, 2018 14:11 |  #7

Bardi wrote in post #18634414 (external link)
I can't believe that didn't dawn on me! Thank you two. I just started L + RAW this morning. I don't have any post processing software at the moment, and not sure what my basic laptop can handle, so never felt the need to shoot in RAW. My laptop does have some basic filter type things that I have been using. SO many of my shots have been taken with the meter in the middle, but come out so dark. I think I need lots more practice!

You can download Canon's raw-processing software (Digital Photo Professional) free here: canon.com/icpd
You can't beat the price!

Most (all?) canon cameras lock auto-ISO to 400 if flash in on/attached.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bardi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
101 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 62
Joined May 2018
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
     
Jun 03, 2018 16:03 |  #8

Follow up. I went to EPCOT with the family yesterday afternoon and took 800 something photos. 98% of them were on Auto ISO and 100% of those were all at 400. Is there a chance my old second hand 40D has an issue? I'm ok with that, if that's the case. I just don't see how a picture in relative sun, a picture in shade, and a picture at night of a lit subject can ALL be 400 ISO.

Thoughts from the experienced?


Gear List
Critique welcome. Editing ok. Thanks for looking

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
monty28428
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,095 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 235
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Carolina Beach
     
Jun 03, 2018 16:31 |  #9

If you are in Manual mode the Auto ISO is stuck at 400

This info is on page 60 of your manual;


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
Senior Member
Avatar
333 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 163
Joined Oct 2017
     
Jun 03, 2018 17:52 |  #10

Wat?!? Thats pretty crippled. Sorry for your loss.

Andrew


"Camera rich, Cash poor"
http://shutterklick.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bardi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
101 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 62
Joined May 2018
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
     
Jun 03, 2018 19:10 |  #11

monty28428 wrote in post #18638431 (external link)
If you are in Manual mode the Auto ISO is stuck at 400

This info is on page 60 of your manual;


thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by monty28428 in
./showthread.php?p=186​38431&i=i6762263
forum: General Photography Talk


Monty, Thank you for finding that. I never thought to see if it was inherent to the operating system. That was so frustrating! So, It looks like I need to be more active with my ISO settings or upgrade sooner, haha.


Gear List
Critique welcome. Editing ok. Thanks for looking

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
Senior Member
Avatar
333 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 163
Joined Oct 2017
     
Jun 03, 2018 19:13 |  #12

Meh... just go full manual all the way. Old school.

Andrew


"Camera rich, Cash poor"
http://shutterklick.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DarenM
Senior Member
666 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Theresa, NY
     
Jun 03, 2018 19:34 |  #13

If you are shooting in maual, than you would not expect the iso to be changing as conditions change because you are controlling the exposure not the camera. I would turn the auto iso off when using manual settings, then you can adjust the iso as needed. Another thought, if you are in changing lighting conditions, manual is not the best to use.


Canon 1D MK IV, Canon 1D MK III, Canon 5D, 24-70 2.8L, 70-200 2.8 L IS MK II, 17-40 F4 Canon, 430 EX, Canon A2E, 530EX Canon 1.4 Extender, 580 II, 600EX-RT, ST-E3-RT, (Way too much stuff for an amateur)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ShutterKlick
Senior Member
Avatar
333 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Likes: 163
Joined Oct 2017
     
Jun 03, 2018 20:35 |  #14

DarenM wrote in post #18638577 (external link)
I would turn the auto iso off when using manual settings

Blah.. I love setting shutter and f, and let ISO adjust to light as needed. LOVE IT!


"Camera rich, Cash poor"
http://shutterklick.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
34,534 posts
Gallery: 89 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4407
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
     
Jun 03, 2018 22:29 |  #15

Auto ISO with the newer bodies is a thing of beauty, I like it. Auto ISO on the older bodies is crippled in various ways.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,847 views & 22 likes for this thread
Is auto ISO really auto?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is JeffreyHollis
632 guests, 259 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.