Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 09 Jul 2018 (Monday) 07:59
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Which strobe would you use in my situation.

ericz34
81 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Jul 2016

Jul 09, 2018 07:59 |  #1

Hey everyone! So I’m not new to photography, but I am new to using strobes and I’ve become increasingly interested in lighting my subjects. I’m really torn between the ad200, vs the ad600. Im thinking of doing golden hour/blue hour style of shoots with a large soft box to really diffuse the light. I don’t know if the ad200 would be enough for 1-2 people? Or if I should just jump to the 600?

What’s holding me back isn’t necessary the price, it’s the fact that I feel like I don’t know if it’ll be overkill? Because I’ve never used flash I really don’t know what’s too much or too little power.

What would you purchase for someone getting into lighting people for the first time?

sponsored links
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
9,005 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Joined Jun 2011
Post edited 4 months ago by Left Handed Brisket. (2 edits in all)

Jul 09, 2018 08:07 |  #2

A big question is, what is your shooting style?

Do you want to fire off a few shots in rapid succession?

Are the subjects going to be backlit?

Shooting and lighting full body?

If yes to those, higher power will help tremendously.

Edit: I wasn't going to suggest the 400 because it is/was just a rumor, but it is now apparently official.

https://photography-on-the.net …hp?t=1497665&go​to=newpost