Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 11 Feb 2019 (Monday) 07:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flash purchase help (Canon SpeedLite and 3rd parties)

SiaoP
Goldmember
1,406 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Post edited 4 days ago by SiaoP. (6 edits in all)

Feb 11, 2019 07:40 |  #1

I'm relatively new to flash, have always shot without it. And now with what I like to shoot I find I need to buy a flash.

I like to go to events where vendors showcase their toys or figurines.

IMAGE: https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7823/47060722461_2f4d2063b4_z.jpg

The show displays are often saturated with LED or (even worse) flickering fluorescent light bulbs. The resulting photo without flash is under saturated, lacking in contrast, monotone, and flat. Some smaller vendors do not have lighting so going with natural light is difficult as the convention hall lighting is very far up (likely 5 stories tall). I also find the exposure auto setting in Av mode is rather bad when there is such strong fluorescent beaming at the figure and my shots are usually very dark. I want to see if I can overpower the existing display lights and just shoot in a more controlled manner with a flash.

how i shoot :
- I use a Canon 5D Mark II. Primes usually (35mm f2/50mm f1.8/85mm f1.8) and may buy a 24-70 f4 as the primes are inconvenient to frame a shot.
- I prefer lighter weight as I walk a lot.
- I usually want to shoot at f4 or higher due to DOF issues.
- I shoot around 2 feet away from the item. (like the guy in the photo...)