Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 09 Mar 2019 (Saturday) 13:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Ethics and Photography

this thread is locked
Croasdail
making stuff up
7,532 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Joined Apr 2005

Mar 09, 2019 13:25 |  #1

I have been a photojournalist type of photographer for over 40 years now. I don't have an artistic bone in my body. I just like to capture events and tell stories through my images.

That is why the recent debate about the National Geographic photographer who took the Afghan Girl photo is interesting here. I wanted to have a broader discussion on it though. I get why the other thread was shut down... not interested in anyones personal politics.... but it is still a topic worth having. At the heart of the discussion on Tony's video blog was if the photo was honest, and its impact on a young girl. Was the act of photographing her "abusive".

What I find particularly interesting is two points.