Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 01 Jun 2006 (Thursday) 08:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

30D Raw thumbnails in CS2

 
Keiffer
Goldmember
Avatar
2,259 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Orlando Fl.
     
Jun 01, 2006 08:47 |  #1

Hey guys, I've noticed that I can see my Raw thumbnails from my D60 but I can't see the thumbnails of my 30D, I downloaded the latetest raw plug in so what am I doing wrong?



http://kcschoeppler.fo​topic.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
col4bin
Goldmember
Avatar
2,264 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
     
Jun 01, 2006 08:50 |  #2

try and clear the cache


Frank
http://www.fiorentinop​hotography.com (external link)
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keiffer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,259 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Orlando Fl.
     
Jun 01, 2006 11:14 |  #3

Nope that didn't work. Any other ideas?



http://kcschoeppler.fo​topic.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,813 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Jun 01, 2006 11:19 as a reply to  @ Keiffer's post |  #4

Are you sure you have ACR3.4? If so re-read the instructions for installation. If not in the correct place it will not work. Also, can you open the files in ACR?

EDIT: After reading your post again where are you viewing the thumbnails?


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keiffer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,259 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Orlando Fl.
     
Jun 01, 2006 12:38 |  #5

I'm viewing the thumbnails in PSCS2 in Bridge. Yep ACR 3.4



http://kcschoeppler.fo​topic.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,813 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Jun 01, 2006 12:48 as a reply to  @ Keiffer's post |  #6

Did you clear the cache for one folder or central cache?


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keiffer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,259 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Orlando Fl.
     
Jun 01, 2006 13:39 |  #7

Mike, I'm not sure, can you tell me exactly what you think I should do and how to do it. The one I hit said purge cache while in bridge



http://kcschoeppler.fo​topic.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,813 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Jun 01, 2006 14:00 as a reply to  @ Keiffer's post |  #8

There are 2 options. Go to Tools > Cache

Purge cache for this folder
Purge central cache

Try the second. This was what Adobe said to do if the thumbnails were not visible. If that doesn't do it then try reinstalling the plug-in.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Toogy
"I like pictures of myself!"
Avatar
6,247 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Jun 01, 2006 15:24 |  #9

Make sure you unzipped the raw plugin into the correct folder.
It needs to be in
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats

Note the Common Files, it needs to be in there for it to work in Bridge as well.

HTH


Toogood Studios (external link)
Good Light and Shoot to the Right....

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keiffer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,259 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Orlando Fl.
     
Jun 01, 2006 22:03 |  #10

Mike, I did exactly what you said , still no go.

Toogy, I have CS@ and I don't see "Common files" But I did installit in Plug ins. Still no go, I can open them no prob, Just can't see what the Pic is by looking at the thumbnail.



http://kcschoeppler.fo​topic.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jfrancho
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,341 posts
Joined Feb 2005
     
Jun 01, 2006 22:40 |  #11

If Camera Raw.8bi isn't copied to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats (Windows), Photoshop/Bridge will not work correctly with ACR. I'd be very surprised that this dir doesn't exist on any Windows system, as many programs use this dir - inluding MS Office, Java, and Canon. Do a search of all drives, it may be on an alternate drive.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
col4bin
Goldmember
Avatar
2,264 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
     
Jun 02, 2006 02:06 as a reply to  @ Keiffer's post |  #12

Keiffer wrote:
Mike, I did exactly what you said , still no go.

Toogy, I have CS@ and I don't see "Common files" But I did installit in Plug ins. Still no go, I can open them no prob, Just can't see what the Pic is by looking at the thumbnail.

Sounds like you installed ACR into the wrong plugin folder and you most likely have competing plugins. Make sure it is installed in the correct folder, then clear the cache and reselect the folder in bridge with the RAW files.


Frank
http://www.fiorentinop​hotography.com (external link)
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jfrancho
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,341 posts
Joined Feb 2005
     
Jun 02, 2006 07:04 |  #13

In Photoshop, you can verify plug-in versions by accessing the Help menu.



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DavidW
Goldmember
3,165 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
     
Jun 02, 2006 08:38 |  #14

As has been said, on the Windows version of CS2, Camera Raw.8bi goes in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats

People assume that they know where Camera Raw.8bi goes, put it in the Photoshop Plug-Ins folder (contrary to Adobe's instructions) and hit trouble. Put Camera Raw 3.4 in the location above, then check C:\Program Files\Adobe Photoshop CS2\Plug-Ins and all subdirectories, and delete any copies of Camera Raw.8bi found there.

Close any Adobe applications that are open (or, if you like, log out and log back in or even reboot). Return to Bridge and if things still don't work, clear the cache.

David




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keiffer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
2,259 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Orlando Fl.
     
Jun 02, 2006 10:01 |  #15

Bingo, The common files was still on my C drive, I reinstalled CS2 to my F drive to make space on the C drive and the Common files was actually in my documents, weird but I got it!! Thanks everyone for all of your help:-)



http://kcschoeppler.fo​topic.net (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,806 views & 0 likes for this thread
30D Raw thumbnails in CS2
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Wierdninja
827 guests, 199 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.