Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff The Lounge 
Thread started 28 Aug 2006 (Monday) 17:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Dead Mobo, Monarch gone.(Can't wait for new System to arrive!)

 
inthedeck
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,579 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1139
Joined Sep 2006
Location: St. Augustine, Florida
     
Mar 21, 2007 19:01 |  #91

Guess once you reboot you shall have some more info. I finally got my IDE drive installed...it's a measley 20giger...but, should be enough as a working drive. I copied everything from it to the backup 250G USB drive. And that one is almost full. Yikes. Never knew I would need more storage...but with these 5D files (just RAW) takes tons of space. Oh well...storage is storage.


MCSquared Photography (external link) on WWW
MCSquared Photography (external link) on Flickr
MCSquared Photography (external link) on IG
My name: Manish.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,815 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9946
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 21, 2007 19:14 |  #92

That's what I ran into a few years back now .. both with storage and with horsepower, when I did the following
1. Went from the 10D 6MP RAW files to 1D MkII 8.5MP RAW files..
2. Switched from 8bit tiffs to 16Bit.

I did both at the same time, and thus went from 10-14MB files to 48MB files!
(that along with 8FPS!, which leads to more files!)

this was the reason for the PC Upgrade... at first I just stuffed more HDs in the old system but it just could not handle the larger files in PSCS .. at least not gracefully!

Right now as I work out the kinks, I only have the primary pair of HDs installed,. the other drives will be installed once things are going smoothly.

I use a SuperMicro SATA Backplane for the Data RAID..

IMAGE: http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/productimage/17-121-405-04.JPG

...that way ANY time something is go9ng weird on a system, I yank the DATA drives before I start to mess with things.

GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
inthedeck
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,579 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1139
Joined Sep 2006
Location: St. Augustine, Florida
     
Mar 21, 2007 19:33 |  #93

Rock on. I still have space for 4 more SATA drives...which, once I have a bit of money, I will use to buy a couple of 500gb drives...and create another raid. So far, 3 80GB drives, as a RAID 0, for about 200+ gigs, a 250GB backup, and the measley 20giger, for just working...might as well use that drive...hehe.

Though, what you got there is an insane amount of storage. :eek: At least you are fairly safe. :lol:


MCSquared Photography (external link) on WWW
MCSquared Photography (external link) on Flickr
MCSquared Photography (external link) on IG
My name: Manish.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,815 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9946
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 22, 2007 19:39 |  #94

Well , it's all up and running smoothly!
All but the Raptor swap drive/XPpro (32 bit install) is back in and running.. I'm so happy :)

The RAM issue did turn out to be bizarre bios settings, so no bad RAM, and more importantly no bad MOBO! (oh thank you thank you!)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
inthedeck
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,579 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1139
Joined Sep 2006
Location: St. Augustine, Florida
     
Mar 22, 2007 19:50 |  #95

Glad to hear it. How long does you machine take to open PS SC2? or even DPP?


MCSquared Photography (external link) on WWW
MCSquared Photography (external link) on Flickr
MCSquared Photography (external link) on IG
My name: Manish.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SimonG
Goldmember
Avatar
1,007 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Kitchener, ON
     
Mar 22, 2007 20:05 |  #96

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i96.photobucket​.com …Simon_G/Emotico​ns/yay.gif (external link)


Glad to hear that you have things all worked out CDS!

-- Michael (a.k.a. SimonG)
EOS 5D | 17-40 f/4L | 24-105 f/4L | 40 f/2.8 | 50 f/1.4 | 85 f/1.4 | 430EX | Zenfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,815 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9946
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 22, 2007 20:22 |  #97

PSCS is about 9 seconds .. and thats with a frightening amount of plug ins to load..
I don't have DPP installed now/yet .. but RSP is 7 seconds including loading the 1st image image of the folder it was last in.. not bad. :)

But it's the conversion that really rocks. From clicking a thumbnail to laoding an image into the viewer converter is about 1 second.. If I click "convert" on a 1D MkII file to a 16 bit tiff, by the time I get the mouse pointer to the other side of the screen and click the tab to see the progress bar of the conversion, it's too late. It's already done! :)


and Thanks Simon/Mike :)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
inthedeck
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,579 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1139
Joined Sep 2006
Location: St. Augustine, Florida
     
Mar 22, 2007 20:26 |  #98

Nice...that's the speed at which mine works. DPP can preview 1 folder, with about 1/2 gig of info. in about 5 seconds.

PSCS2 takes about 7-9 seconds to load...and it's the complete version. No matter what else is open (winamp, DPP, browsers). Gotta love fast machines. Just that my work machine now seems REALLY slow... :( :)


MCSquared Photography (external link) on WWW
MCSquared Photography (external link) on Flickr
MCSquared Photography (external link) on IG
My name: Manish.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
blonde
Buck Naked Floozies
Avatar
8,405 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA
     
Mar 22, 2007 21:45 |  #99

don't you just love it when you don't have to wait between conversions and filters? i over clocked my cpu and i am not at 3.4 ghz (dual core) and the thing freaking fly!!! i am used to my old computer where i click open file with CS2 and then i can go make coffee. not anymore.....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,815 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9946
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 22, 2007 22:36 |  #100

:lol: Yep..

I know these Opterons have a lot of leeway for a nice OC, especially with the Zalman fans ion them.. but I fear the Nforce chips on the mobo may not fair as well.. after having one die on me already without an OC, I don';t know if I have the nards to give it a go...

I'll wait a few months maybe :)


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,010 posts
Likes: 374
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Mar 22, 2007 22:41 |  #101

CDS, overclocking would give you maybe 20% gain, and 20% better than incredibly fast is still just incredibly fast. Probably not worth the risk.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,813 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
Mar 23, 2007 07:21 |  #102

tim wrote in post #2915973 (external link)
CDS, overclocking would give you maybe 20% gain, and 20% better than incredibly fast is still just incredibly fast. Probably not worth the risk.

Maybe he would reach Ludicrous Speed.:D


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SimonG
Goldmember
Avatar
1,007 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Kitchener, ON
     
Mar 23, 2007 08:21 |  #103

I believe that "stupid fast" follows "incredibly fast"... "ludicrous speed" comes just after that. ;)

In any case, there's still a speed boost to be had when CDS gets that Raptor swap drive a swappin'...

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i96.photobucket​.com …n_G/Emoticons/s​lobber.gif (external link)

-- Michael (a.k.a. SimonG)
EOS 5D | 17-40 f/4L | 24-105 f/4L | 40 f/2.8 | 50 f/1.4 | 85 f/1.4 | 430EX | Zenfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,815 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9946
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Mar 23, 2007 12:04 |  #104

Raptor is swapping :)
Trans Warp Drive is now at 100% capacity...

Dual boot is working, had to edit the boot.ini file again to point to the correct location of the XP Pro32 install, as the new Mobo changed around the order of the hard drives a bit.
But It was nice with the Data array, just plugged in the drives, and NVidia raid utility saw it as the RAID 1+0 array .. no rebuild required.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

17,750 views & 0 likes for this thread
Dead Mobo, Monarch gone.(Can't wait for new System to arrive!)
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff The Lounge 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Anna Brace Photography
661 guests, 159 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.