Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 03 Nov 2006 (Friday) 18:04
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

New member - from a Leica M3, Konica T3, Maxxum 7, to my 30D

Midlife ­ Crisis
77 posts
Joined Nov 2006

Nov 03, 2006 18:04 |  #1

Just introducing myself, in the 1960's I learned photography from my dad with his Leica M3 rangefinder. Then I graduated to the other cameras as well. Currently I have the 30D with the 17-55 Canon lens attached. Believe it or not this is my first digital camera and boy what a positive change from my film days.

One quick question. Does anybody know why when I activate the pop up flash and aim at a doorknob about 6 feet from me, when I am in either shutter or aperture mode my viewfinder displays 1/8th at f2.8 but when I am in the program AE mode using the pop up flash I get 1/60 at f2.8? This is about 3 stops different and the program AE picture turns out better.

Thanks in advance and see you on the threads...

30D
17-55 IS
70-200 f2.8 IS
Leica M3 :p

sponsored links
Tapeman
Sliced Bread
3,723 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Joined Jan 2004

Nov 03, 2006 18:24 |  #2

Welcome to P.O.T.N.
I don't have a 30D so I can't help you, but I'm sure someone will soon.

Canon G1X II, 1D MKIV, 5DSR, 5DIV, 5D MKII, 16-35/2.8L II, 24-70/2.8L II, 70-200/2.8L IS II, IS, 100-400/4.5-5.6 L IS II, 500/4 L IS II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/2.5 macro, 1.4x MKII, 1.4X MKIII, 2X MKIII,580EX II, 550EXs(2), ST-E2.
Gitzo 1228, 1275, 1558, Lensbaby 3G. Epson 3880, Bags that match my shoes.:)

ScottE
Goldmember