Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
Thread started 01 Apr 2002 (Monday) 16:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sharpening - in camera or on PC?

 
puttick
Senior Member
Avatar
809 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 18
Joined Mar 2002
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
     
Apr 01, 2002 16:47 |  #1

My understanding is that some sharpening is performed in the camera. As default this is set to "neutral" which must mean "some sharpening" with the alternatives being "weak", presumably no sharpening, or "strong", more sharpening. I have been unable to discover whether this only applies to JPEG images, or is also used for RAW files, though I cannot see why this would be needed.

So, which is preferable:

(1) to set this to "weak" and use software sharpening after downloading to the PC, on the basis of having as "pure" an image as possible in the first instance, or

(2) use the in-camera sharpening routine?

So far, I have left it set to "neutral", and I think I can see minimal sharpening artefacts in my images (large, fine JPEGs) when viewed in Photoshop.

Your opinions, experience, or evidence would be welcome!

Thanks, Nigel


Nigel Puttick
North Yorkshire, UK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Don ­ Ellis
Goldmember
1,538 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
     
Apr 01, 2002 17:59 |  #2

Hi Nigel,

Very definitely, set your in-camera sharpening to neutral or low for both JPG and RAW and do your work in Photoshop.

Don




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
johneb2
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Nov 2001
     
Apr 13, 2002 20:34 |  #3

Nigel,
Leave the sharpening in neutral mode. For any corrections, use the pc software to adjust. A little tip to remember though is to keep a copy of your original picture when altering it via software! When I first started, I made that mistake several times. Now, I copy all the pictures to a separate location as a precaution. John B.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,465 views & 0 likes for this thread
Sharpening - in camera or on PC?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is browntom1
570 guests, 288 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.