Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Guest
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 30 Dec 2006 (Saturday) 04:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

Add a sync port to 580 EX (DIY)

 
davidfig
we over look the simplest things
Avatar
3,275 posts
Likes: 85
Joined May 2005
Location: Fremont, California USA
     
Dec 31, 2006 10:56 |  #16

ifonline wrote in post #2466837 (external link)
The Nikon SB-800 has both a PC cable port (for connecting to a camera) and a master/slave cable port (for connecting to another SB-800). I have often wondered why the 580EX doesn't have something similar.

Simple, to sell STE2's.


5D | 17-40L | Tammy 28-75 2.8 | 28-135 | 50/1.8 | 85/1.8 | Sony A6000 2-Lens Kit | SEL35 1.8 | EF 50 1.8 on NEX as my 75mm 1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ifonline
Senior Member
Avatar
721 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Braselton, Georgia
     
Dec 31, 2006 11:33 |  #17

davidfig wrote in post #2468873 (external link)
Simple, to sell STE2's.

Good point... behold the power of the sales and marketing department! :)


Ian
Founder of Lightroom Forums
Nikon D750, 24-120 f/4, 50 f/1.8 See everything HERE.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
4walls
Goldmember
Avatar
1,424 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 11
Joined Jan 2004
     
Jan 12, 2007 12:57 |  #18

I just pulled my 430EX apart... it is even more simple because there is no circuit board on the bottom like the 580EX. Just wires going directly to the 5 pins on the bottom of the flash and one going to the side connector. I'm off to Radio Shack to buy some parts!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Jan 13, 2007 01:26 |  #19

One of the nice things about this modification is that it allows you to use the very inexpensive 15 foot sync cord available from Alien Bee as a sync cord for basic manual flash use.

I think this cord goes for only about $8.00 or so, which is a sync cord bargain.

See:

http://www.alienbees.c​om/hardware.html (external link)

and

http://www.alienbees.c​om …bsc.gif&pid2=ab​sclg4x.jpg (external link)

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LuisE
Senior Member
Avatar
500 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Location: South Florida, US
     
Jan 26, 2007 17:02 |  #20

I did it and It works perfect for me. Usefull info. Now It is gonna be easier to use my 580EX off camera, specially outdoors.

LuisE


Canon 40D,Canon 50D,Canon EFs 10-22 f/3.5-4.5,Canon 70-200 2.8L IS, Canon 24-70 2.8L ,Canon EF 50mm 1.4 USM, , 2 Speedlites 580EX and 420EX

www.luisephotography.c​om (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stackinchips
Member
237 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA -SOMA-
     
Jan 26, 2007 17:55 |  #21

One question? Can this be done with the 550EX?


Canon 24-70 F/2.8L
Alien Bee's
http://www.myspace.com​/jdiazphoto (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stackinchips
Member
237 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA -SOMA-
     
Jan 26, 2007 18:02 |  #22

Just opened my 550Ex to ifnd that there is really no room to do that mod at the bottom... anyone had success with the 550EX?


Canon 24-70 F/2.8L
Alien Bee's
http://www.myspace.com​/jdiazphoto (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jmb4370
Senior Member
Avatar
320 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Newtown, CT
     
Jan 26, 2007 18:08 |  #23

I do it all the time, as well as all the other units also...

Michael
www.MichaelBassDesigns​.com (external link)


Michael
www.MichaelBassDesigns​.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stackinchips
Member
237 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA -SOMA-
     
Jan 26, 2007 18:53 |  #24

jmb4370 wrote in post #2606082 (external link)
I do it all the time, as well as all the other units also...

Michael
www.MichaelBassDesigns​.com (external link)

550EX's?


Canon 24-70 F/2.8L
Alien Bee's
http://www.myspace.com​/jdiazphoto (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
takurpic
Junior Member
Avatar
25 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Kansas
     
Feb 12, 2007 17:02 |  #25

Stackinchips wrote in post #2606264 (external link)
550EX's?

Yes, here's a link...

http://www.fredmiranda​.com/forum/topic/50770​6 (external link)


Always Learning! ;)
_______________
www.ArchConPhoto.com
www.jasonryman.com

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
15,083 posts
Gallery: 20 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 407
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Feb 12, 2007 21:14 |  #26

Im curious, its well known that remote optical triggers will fire an EX series speed light once, but thats it, unless the flash is cylced on and off.

All these triggers to is close the contact between the center pin, and the earth contact on the outside of the shoe.

It looks to me like the sync cable mod is doing exactly the same thing, closing the circut between the centre pin, and the earth.

Yet, it would appear this mod fires the flash with out the need to cycle it on and off between shots?

What is different?
It would imply that you could use the plug to fire the flash with an optical trigger that had a PC sync out put on it.


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

Now more than ever we need to be a community, working together and for each other, as photographers, as lovers of photography and as members of POTN.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Feb 13, 2007 02:15 |  #27

Moppie wrote in post #2699275 (external link)
It looks to me like the sync cable mod is doing exactly the same thing, closing the circut between the centre pin, and the earth.

It would imply that you could use the plug to fire the flash with an optical trigger that had a PC sync out put on it.

The new port is just an alternate connection point for the center and side conductors on a hotshoe flash's foot.

But, adding this port in no way improves, or diminishes, the ability for the Canon flash to work properly with optical slaves.

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Moppie
Moderator
Avatar
15,083 posts
Gallery: 20 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 407
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
     
Feb 13, 2007 02:22 |  #28

Then how does an optical slave triggering the flash, differ from the PC sync port on the camera, or a flash meter etc, triggering the flash?


flickr (external link)

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

Now more than ever we need to be a community, working together and for each other, as photographers, as lovers of photography and as members of POTN.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Feb 13, 2007 02:29 |  #29

Moppie wrote in post #2700537 (external link)
Then how does an optical slave triggering the flash, differ from the PC sync port on the camera, or a flash meter etc, triggering the flash?

There are several posts that cover this issue in detail, I have contributed to many of them.

But, bottom line, because of some attribute of the recent Canon Speedlights, they just do not work with most optical slaves. Optical slaves are powered off of the Voltage produced by the flash. This is not the case with a cord or a radio slave, they just switch this Voltage, but do not require the Voltage from the flash to operate this switch.

Adding an alternate way to access the same conductors on the hotshoe does not change this very annoying behavior of the recent Canon Speedlights.

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lostdoggy
King Duffus
Avatar
4,787 posts
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Queens, NY
     
Feb 13, 2007 02:31 |  #30

This looks cool must try this out!!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

192,566 views & 0 likes for this thread, 115 members have posted to it.
Add a sync port to 580 EX (DIY)
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Forums   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset   •  Home

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.58forum software
version 2.58 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Little Branch Photography
1775 guests, 202 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15,144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.