Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography 
Thread started 29 Mar 2007 (Thursday) 21:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Full Time Magazine Shooters - Work Flow Question

taygull
Goldmember
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006

Mar 29, 2007 21:28 |  #1

I've got a question, I am a staff photographer for one of the top local community magazines. It is a very quality publication.

My question is how do the big boys do it? What I mean is who knows the exact work flow for determine what images go into the publication and who makes the decision?

I'm not talking about a small magazine, I'm referring some someone like Sports Illustrated and such.

For example..

Editor provides a photo assignment, how much information about the shoot/article is provided? Does the photog no exactly what the article is about, in detail so he can be creative and get shots that go with the article? I would assume there are times where the delay in getting the story makes it difficult for the photog to really know the jest of the story.

Photog sets up shoot, shoots in raw.

Photog then....edits his own pics or does he just give all the unedited images to whom? The art director? The editor? The Director of Photography.

Then this person decides which images go into the magazine, include crop and final look of the image. They decide all post processing?

Does this person then pass it on to the editor, art director, publisher or whom for final approval?

I'd be real curious to see who has actually been part of the process.