Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 06 Apr 2007 (Friday) 01:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom Help - Importing

 
Detrimental
Senior Member
303 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Florida, USA
     
Apr 06, 2007 01:19 |  #1

Hello, I am trying to use lightroom and when trying to import I have issues. Some times it will simply just stop importing, the progress bar will remain on one file and just sit. The program remains useable but the import does nothing and trying to cancel it does not work. I would have to close the program and restart and try again to get the photos in. Has anyone else had this problem and if so have you found any solutions besides constantly restarting to try to get the photos in?

Thanks


5D Mark II w/grip
85L f/1.2 II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
coreypolis
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,793 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Mercer Island, WA
     
Apr 06, 2007 01:21 |  #2
bannedPermanent ban

sorry, haven't had an issue like that. Did you remember which photo it was? maybe its corupt.


Photographic Resources (external link) || International Photo Journalist (external link)

Blog (external link)

Seattle Wedding Photographer - Corey Polis Photographer (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Detrimental
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
303 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Florida, USA
     
Apr 06, 2007 01:37 |  #3

Its done it importing different files. It is not a specific photo but rather just the operation itself. The photos are on local hard drive organized in folders. The photos in cr2 format have existing xmp files from ACR (3.7?) in photoshop, can it read this old XMP files and apply the settings?


5D Mark II w/grip
85L f/1.2 II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rfreschner
ishka bibble
Avatar
2,576 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Andover, CT...................... Go Red Sox!
     
Apr 06, 2007 06:06 |  #4

Detrimental wrote in post #2993714 (external link)
The photos in cr2 format have existing xmp files from ACR (3.7?) in photoshop, can it read this old XMP files and apply the settings?

Yes, it should be able to.


Rick
"We both can't be wrong; I must be right"
Bob Welch
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gparvan
Senior Member
Avatar
788 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Apr 06, 2007 08:39 |  #5

How much memory do you have on our machine? What other programs do you have running too?

When I have lots of other stuff running LR will bog down and sometimes I have to wait a bit. Last night I imported a 131MB file and came right in, though much slower than a 2MB file.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ps2user
Member
Avatar
107 posts
Joined Dec 2005
     
Apr 06, 2007 13:15 |  #6

I've noticed sometimes when i import my raw files, it tries to import but i get nothing imported and the import button becomes greyed out. I just close lightroom and start it again and re-import it again. Good thing there is an option to omit duplicates.


Canon 5D Body
Canon 16-35 L, 50 L, 85 L MK1, 24-105 L IS, Canon Speedlite 550EX
Sigma 70-200 Macro

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
23,883 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Huntington Station, NY
     
Apr 06, 2007 13:21 as a reply to  @ ps2user's post |  #7

Are you on a Mac or a PC? I am currently importing huge folders of images on a Mac. I haven't experienced that but I'll let you know if I do.


Robert
RobertMitchellPhotogra​phy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Detrimental
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
303 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Florida, USA
     
Apr 06, 2007 13:22 |  #8

I had to turn off "render standard previews" to get it to import with almost no problems. and now I am having it render 1:1 previews of everything now that all the pics are in the library. I just hope once everything is in it will not be as buggy and if it is going to continue to be buggy that an update or next release fixes the issues I am having.


5D Mark II w/grip
85L f/1.2 II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bugsyseigel
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Dec 2007
     
Dec 03, 2007 12:23 |  #9

hello!

hey, i was wondering if anyo ne can help me, when i have imported photos into LR from a specific location and i then move the photos to another location, i look for them again and am able to see the images but am not able to make any adjustments or edits to them, it just tells me image can not be found, so i try to import the photos from their new location, only to be told that these images already exist in the catalogue. i go back to the images and am still unable to edit them... the only way aroung it that i have found is to remove the images from lightroom and reimport them a fresh... is this the only way? surely if LR can see that the photos already exist... why cannot it make that link????

please let me know if you can help, as its a bit of a pain! bugsyseigelesquire@yah​oo.co.uk (external link)

thanks!

james




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
viperx27
Senior Member
305 posts
Joined Aug 2007
     
Dec 03, 2007 12:34 |  #10
bannedPermanent ban

bugsyseigel wrote in post #4431986 (external link)
hello!

hey, i was wondering if anyo ne can help me, when i have imported photos into LR from a specific location and i then move the photos to another location, i look for them again and am able to see the images but am not able to make any adjustments or edits to them, it just tells me image can not be found, so i try to import the photos from their new location, only to be told that these images already exist in the catalogue. i go back to the images and am still unable to edit them... the only way aroung it that i have found is to remove the images from lightroom and reimport them a fresh... is this the only way? surely if LR can see that the photos already exist... why cannot it make that link????

please let me know if you can help, as its a bit of a pain! bugsyseigelesquire@yah​oo.co.uk (external link)

thanks!

james

when you move the images, I assume you are moving them via explorer and not lightroom. you really need to move them via lightroom.

in this case, find the missing folder/images, right click and select locate missing files, point to them and it will fix the missing links.

LR is a DAM, so it needs to be in charge of moving/importing/expor​ting and everything else. If you do any of that away from LR, it only makes for an up hill battle




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,959 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom Help - Importing
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is countrygirl67
872 guests, 263 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.