Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 16 Apr 2007 (Monday) 13:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

focusing advise?

Joect541
80 posts
Joined Jan 2007

Apr 16, 2007 13:32 |  #1

Hello all.
Im using a 30d with kit lens and I noticed that when I do a shot of a group of people, not all of them are in focus. Like it only focuses on a couple people leaving the other few out. Im very new to photography, let alone dlsr.

I usualy shoot in av or tv mode but someone told me I should start off in p mode until I get the hang of what kind of settings the camera uses for different conditions and so forth, and I also read the thread on p mode here.

Anyway, I got off subject. What setting or mode or what do i need to be doing to get everything in my forground (group of people in this case) in focus? I have seen shots on here were subjects that are a couple of feet distance in front of or behind each other are still both in focus, but when I take a shot like that, one or the other is in focus. Im stumped!! Thanks for listening and for any help you give.

Happy shooting! Joe

30D, 430ex, Kit Lens, Canon 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM. Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon S3 IS

sponsored links
Jon
Cream of the Crop
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004

Apr 16, 2007 13:38 |  #2