Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 27 May 2007 (Sunday) 07:26
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What do you folks use to clean the lens!!!

Fenka856
68 posts
Joined Jul 2006

May 27, 2007 07:26 |  #1

do you use the blower more often or do you use the swabs? sorry i don't know much of the terms in photography as i'm still new to it.

i noticed i might have some dust on the INSIDE of the Eyepiece, the lens with the focus points?!? how would you go about cleaning that. i was thinking just keep trying to blow it off but i'm not sure which equiopment to use. i dont want to mess up the mirror and the sensor. so far im not sure if it affects my pics but it sure is annoying seeing it there.

thanks for any input!

Canon 350d / Tokina 11-16mm / 28-135mm 3.5 IS / 100-300mm f3.5-5.0 / *NEW* Canon Powershot G12 / 430 ex II /Canon 40mm 2.8 / Canon 85mm 1.8

sponsored links
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
20,473 posts
Joined Dec 2002

May 27, 2007 07:41 |  #2

ALWAYS blow any solid debris (dust, etc.) off of any optical surface before using any other method to clean the surface. If you don't, then you are quite likely to rub the debris into the optical surface and create scratches.

I make a very strong point to never under any circumstances use any single cleaning device surface (be it a lens tissue or any other cleaning tool) more than once for the very same reason. I do not want any debris from a previous cleaning pass either redepositing on or damaging the optical surface.