Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 11 Nov 2007 (Sunday) 01:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Far subject bouncing question

psxindo
419 posts
Joined Mar 2007

Nov 11, 2007 01:57 |  #1

I'm still learning with bounce flash.

What do you do when you're shooting a person about 15ft away and the ceiling is about 8-10ft?
Do I have to angle the flash? how about zoom? diffuser? I have stofen omni bounce.

Basically what is the best method to take a picture of people that is far, about 15+ft away.

If I bounce straight up, It's not bright enough.
If I angle it, there is a lot of shadow.

Thanks

5D mkIII | 5D mkII | 6D | EOS M | 16-35L | 24-70L | 70-200L 2.8 IS mkII | EF-M 22 | 50 1.4 | 85L | 100 2.8 macro | Tamron 17-50 2.8 | 2x 580 ex II | 580 ex | 2x sunpak 383 | 134GB CF |
Wishlist | 14L | 24L | 35L | 50L | 100L macro | 135L | 15 2.8 FE | 17L 4 TS | 45 2.8 TS | 90 2.8 TS |

sponsored links
Jim ­ M
Goldmember
1,656 posts
Joined Aug 2006

Nov 11, 2007 08:19 |  #2

Fifteen feet isn't all that far away and an 8-10ft ceiling isn't all that high. Tell us what you are doing and maybe we can help.

Are you shooting with the flash set on manual and not adjusting for increased distance? Which flash are you using? What ISO? Is the room huge? Is the ceiling dark?

Unity ­ Gain
255 posts
Joined Oct 2007

Nov 11, 2007 10:39 as a reply to  @ Jim M's post |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

Ok - I don't know if this helps you or not, but I wanted to share.