Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Dec 2007 (Wednesday) 16:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

40D Focusing Screen DIY - Pics inside

 
71sbeetle
Goldmember
Avatar
3,294 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
     
Dec 05, 2007 16:19 |  #1

Quick note:
This procedure is similar on the Canon EOS 40D, Canon EOS 50D and Canon EOS 5D, and I am sure it covers all the other bodies that have user-changeable focusing screen (I've only personally done it on the 40D, 50D and 5D)

Alright, since I wanted to swap my 40D focusing screen to the Ef-D with grid lines I've been looking for a DIY to see how easy it really was, but I couldn't
find one, so I decided to make one to help out whoever else is considering it. This is a guide only, you should still read the instructions that come with
the focusing screen you are using, also do this at your own risk, I am not responsible for any damage to you or your camera equipment.
Alright first of all, bring your 40D and your newly purchased focusing screen (in that case for me the Ef-D screen):

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2047/2090009810_03965d6594_o.jpg

Then open the box for the focusing screen, this is what you should have, instructions and the focusing screen and tool:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2323/2089222287_8e81120a1a_o.jpg

Now lay your 40D down and take the body cap off, try doing that in a non dusty area. You will be looking for the little locking clip that holds the focusing
screen holder up, I circled it in red in the picture:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2119/2089222341_93dd8cfc0f_o.jpg

Put the provided tool under the clip:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2291/2089222391_be0e387c69_o.jpg

and pull up on it, the focusing screen holder will come down:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2103/2089222459_679ca51124_o.jpg

Then using the same tool, press on the blue part of the handle top open the clip and clip it on the little tab that sticks out from the focusing screen:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2242/2090010152_952646feee_o.jpg

Lift the focusing screen up and slid it out:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2225/2090010244_448c503eff_o.jpg

Then set the focusing screen you just removed in that little area made for it in the box:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2355/2090010320_eb5d445341_o.jpg

gareymartin.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBay (external link) | POTN
VWVortex (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,294 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
     
Dec 05, 2007 16:19 |  #2

Now pick up the new focusing screen:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2209/2090010410_c54436c636_o.jpg

Put it in the focusing screen holder, basically reverse steps from removing the other one:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2266/2089222903_71a3dac8f1_o.jpg

And push the focusing screen holder back up until it clicks:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2266/2089222979_17ca0f2d01_o.jpg

Replace the body cap on the camera, turn the camera ON, go to Menu, Custom Functions IV: Operation/Others, then go to C.Fn 5 and choose the appropriate
Focusing Screen (0: Ef-A, 1: Ef-D, 2: Ef-S)

That's it, you're done ! Go out and enjoy your new focusing screen !
Sorry if some of the pics are blurry, I am not used to my wife's Canon SD870IS yet

The whole thing including opening the box, taking my 40D out the Pelican case and taking pictures of the whole process took me 7 minutes, I'm guessing the swap itself should take about 90 seconds at most !

Hope that helps someone :)

gareymartin.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBay (external link) | POTN
VWVortex (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChucklesKY
Senior Member
Avatar
353 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bluegrass, KY
     
Dec 05, 2007 16:31 as a reply to  @ 71sbeetle's post |  #3

Great tutorial! I had started a thread about these focusing screens a couple of weeks ago. I was wondering exactly how it was done. Most everyone said it was easy but couldn't really explain or I couldn't really visualize. This really helps a lot! Good job!


Canon EOS 40D || 10-22mm EF-S || 24-70mm f/2.8L ||70-200mm f/2.8L IS || 50mm f/1.8 II || 60mm f/2.8 Macro EF-S

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
Goldmember
Avatar
3,915 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Sep 2005
Location: San Francisco USA
     
Dec 05, 2007 16:41 |  #4

wut the heck, i didnt even know canon made a focusing screen

does this screen have the circle in the center to help you manually focus like the haodas? but i guess it wont matter cuz i dont have a 40d




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
koalawalla
Member
Avatar
169 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
     
Dec 05, 2007 17:59 |  #5

Thanks for showing us this! :) I just found a defect on my focusing screen on the far upper right. Didn't even notice it till I tested my camera on a blank sheet of paper. I'll probably swap it eventually.


Canon 40D | EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS w/ ridiculously overpriced lens hood | EF 70-200mm f/4L | EF 15mm f/2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,294 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
     
Dec 05, 2007 18:44 |  #6

koalawalla wrote in post #4447357 (external link)
Thanks for showing us this! :) I just found a defect on my focusing screen on the far upper right. Didn't even notice it till I tested my camera on a blank sheet of paper. I'll probably swap it eventually.

mine has a defect too towards the center, I took the screen back out and it looks like the coating on the screen is uneven at that spot .... I wonder if I should call Canon or the place I bought it at (Adorama) ?


gareymartin.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBay (external link) | POTN
VWVortex (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,294 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
     
Dec 05, 2007 18:45 |  #7

kaitanium wrote in post #4446977 (external link)
wut the heck, i didnt even know canon made a focusing screen

does this screen have the circle in the center to help you manually focus like the haodas? but i guess it wont matter cuz i dont have a 40d

No but they make the Ef-S which is for manual focusing, but is better with f/2.8 or better lenses, otherwise it will make the viewfinder quite dark


gareymartin.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBay (external link) | POTN
VWVortex (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,294 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
     
Dec 05, 2007 18:47 |  #8

ChucklesKY wrote in post #4446908 (external link)
Great tutorial! I had started a thread about these focusing screens a couple of weeks ago. I was wondering exactly how it was done. Most everyone said it was easy but couldn't really explain or I couldn't really visualize. This really helps a lot! Good job!

Yup remember seeing your thread and this is why I made the DIY, I had ordered my screen I think the day before you posted it, and then I remember seeing your thread and I thought, hey, I am not the only one out there that would like an idea of what's involved before buying one, so I decided I'd make a DIY when I installed mine and here it is :)


gareymartin.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBay (external link) | POTN
VWVortex (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tampaphotogal
Member
Avatar
154 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Florida
     
Dec 05, 2007 21:10 |  #9

is the screen with the grid lines any brighter than the original one? just wondering if I should try one or pay more for the katz eye brighter one.


5D, 40D and some L glass.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
carianoff
Senior Member
Avatar
611 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Detroitish, Michigan
     
Dec 05, 2007 21:13 as a reply to  @ tampaphotogal's post |  #10

I want a katz one with a focus ring, but i really think I'm going to have someone do it. I just don't have the guts.


My Flickr (external link)
My Arsenal & Info

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,294 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 604
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
     
Dec 05, 2007 21:16 as a reply to  @ carianoff's post |  #11

don't think it's brighter but I know it will not mess up the metering like the katz eye does, oh and it is so easy to swap it's not even funny lol


gareymartin.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBay (external link) | POTN
VWVortex (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark_Cohran
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
15,646 posts
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 898
Joined Jul 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
     
Dec 05, 2007 21:20 |  #12

71sbeetle wrote in post #4448365 (external link)
don't think it's brighter but I know it will not mess up the metering like the katz eye does, oh and it is so easy to swap it's not even funny lol

Yep, under a minute even if you're not very fast. :) I put the Ef-S in mine a few weeks ago. I have the grid screen too, which I'll pop in as needed. The grid stays in my 5D.

Mark


Mark
-----
Some primes, some zooms, some Ls, some bodies and they all play nice together.
Forty years of shooting and still learning.
My Tumblr Site (external link) (NSFW)
Follow Me on Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChucklesKY
Senior Member
Avatar
353 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bluegrass, KY
     
Dec 05, 2007 21:28 as a reply to  @ Mark_Cohran's post |  #13

The Katz Eye screens look pretty sweet. But unfortunately they have all different kinds of varied exposure compensation to use based on different compositions. For this reason there is no way I would get one. With the Canon OEM focusing screens all you do is change the Custom Function and the exposure value change is all automatic. No manual setup or thinking. I don't like thinking. It makes my brain sweat!


Canon EOS 40D || 10-22mm EF-S || 24-70mm f/2.8L ||70-200mm f/2.8L IS || 50mm f/1.8 II || 60mm f/2.8 Macro EF-S

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kcbrown
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,384 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
     
Dec 05, 2007 21:31 |  #14

I have the Katz Eye screen, but without the split prism. I haven't noticed much in the way of metering issues with it. Mine's got their "OptiBrite" treatment. I got it because I wanted more precision than the standard Canon screen without sacrificing brightness and I wanted a "rule of thirds" grid.

The screen works quite nicely in my experience. I use the Ef-A setting in the camera.

Note that I haven't done any formal testing of the metering accuracy.

About the only real downside of the screen is that it's rather expensive. The Canon screens are about $35 apiece. Unless you really want the specific features of the Katz Eye, you're probably better off sticking with the Canon screens.


"There are some things that money can't buy, but they aren't Ls and aren't worth having" -- Shooter-boy
Canon: 2 x 7D, Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 OS, 55-250 IS, Sigma 8-16, 24-105L, Sigma 50/1.4, other assorted primes, and a 430EX.
Nikon: D750, D600, 24-85 VR, 50 f/1.8G, 85 f/1.8G, Tamron 24-70 VC, Tamron 70-300 VC.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Avatar
12,773 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Likes: 193
Joined Mar 2003
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
     
Dec 05, 2007 23:57 |  #15

that's really cool

thanks for doing it. I have the 40D and been thinking about doing the same thing at some point. I was wondering how it was done.

I just have one question, do the focus points still show up?


Mark
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/52782633@N04 (external link)
Canon EOS 6D | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Tamron SP 35mm F1.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 550EX -|- Film | Canon EOS 3 | Olympus OM2 | Zuiko 35mm f2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

67,962 views & 0 likes for this thread
40D Focusing Screen DIY - Pics inside
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gunz46
794 guests, 255 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.