Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Dec 2007 (Saturday) 09:17
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

ERROR 99, CF ERROR, 20D down for the count!

 
TimB
Member
Avatar
33 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Denver, North Carolina
     
Dec 08, 2007 09:17 |  #1

Over the last few weeks I've been getting random ERR 99 messages on my 20D. This has happened with the 24-70L and the kit lens. When this happens I take the battery out and I reinstall it and it starts working again. The images that were corrupt are still corrupt but the new images work fine. If I view the corrupt images in the camera it would give me a "Corrupt Image" message on the lcd or it would ERR 99 and lock up. I used my card reader to see what was on the card. There were a few images that were ok but most of the files had a .ZPG extension and could not be opened or copied. There was also a bunch of folders named with very long numbers that could not be opened. So I placed the card back in the camera and tried to format the card with the camera. The camera went black. I turned the camera back on and now I get a CF ERROR. I've tried two different cf cards and two different batteries and all I get is a CF ERROR. If I remove the card the camera appears to work fine. I get the same results with any lens attached or with no lens at all. It then tried to format one of the cards with the pc but it didn't help. I can see one cf card going bad but not both. I took the battery out of the camera for 24 hours but it didn't help.

I store my camera in a Nova 4 AW bag with the 24-70 attached and the camera in the OFF position. I move all photos from the cards to the pc with a card reader and never format the cards with the camera (maybe I should be doing this). Anyone have any ideas? Anything else I can try? What's involved with sending it back for repairs? How long will they keep it?

Canon 20D Firmware Ver. 1.1.0 (purchased new March of 2005)
(2) Canon BP-511A Batteries
Sandisk Ultra II 1 GB CF Card
Sandisk Ultra II 2 GB CF Card
Last Image (on continuous) _MG_4219.CR2

Just in time for the holidays! :cry:


Tim (external link)
Canon 20D, 18-55, 50 1.8, 75-300, 24-70 2.8L, 580EX
Charlotte NC Photography FB Group (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,475 posts
Likes: 154
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Dec 08, 2007 09:42 |  #2

I always format my cards in the camera after either removing the files via card reader or even formatting via card reader. I've had good results with my 20D using a number of brands and types ("model numbers") of CF cards.


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drb_52
Member
87 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Eastlake, Ohio
     
Dec 08, 2007 17:22 as a reply to  @ SkipD's post |  #3

Did you check if you bent/broke a pin in the cf slot?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TimB
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
33 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Denver, North Carolina
     
Dec 08, 2007 20:17 |  #4

drb_52 wrote in post #4465310 (external link)
Did you check if you bent/broke a pin in the cf slot?

Just checked it. Everything looks good in there. Any other ideas?


Tim (external link)
Canon 20D, 18-55, 50 1.8, 75-300, 24-70 2.8L, 580EX
Charlotte NC Photography FB Group (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
basroil
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,015 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2006
Location: STL/Clayton, MO| NJ
     
Dec 08, 2007 20:55 |  #5

i hope that you formatted those cards to FAT16 (aka FAT) and not FAT32... and tried a quick format and regular one


I don't hate macs or OSX, I hate people and statements that portray them as better than anything else. Macs are A solution, not THE solution. Get a good desktop i7 with Windows 7 and come tell me that sucks for photo or video editing.
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TimB
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
33 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Denver, North Carolina
     
Dec 09, 2007 09:32 as a reply to  @ basroil's post |  #6

Good news everyone, I got it working! :D:D:D

I tried formatting the cards to FAT, quick and slow like basroil suggested with no luck. Since that didn't work it got me to thinking. I reformatted the card again and then created a DCIM folder and placed a 242CANON folder in that. Then I put the last 3 good photos in there. Essentially recreating the card the way it should have been. I stuck it in the camera and guess what, I'm back in business! I'm not sure why this fixed it, but it did. Both cards are working great. Since I was feeling lucky I updated the firmware to 2.0.3. The update is suppose to improve the communication with cf cards. We'll see. So for now on I will copy photos off of the cards and reformat them in the camera before reusing.

Thanks,


Tim (external link)
Canon 20D, 18-55, 50 1.8, 75-300, 24-70 2.8L, 580EX
Charlotte NC Photography FB Group (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,475 posts
Likes: 154
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Dec 09, 2007 09:39 |  #7

TimB wrote in post #4468835 (external link)
I tried formatting the cards to FAT, quick and slow like basroil suggested with no luck. Since that didn't work it got me to thinking. I reformatted the card again and then created a DCIM folder and placed a 242CANON folder in that. Then I put the last 3 good photos in there. Essentially recreating the card the way it should have been.

Formatting the card in a card reader (to FAT - and not FAT32 - as you have learned) and then formatting it in the camera would have created the required folder structure and your camera would have probably worked just fine.


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TimB
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
33 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Denver, North Carolina
     
Dec 09, 2007 10:17 |  #8

SkipD wrote in post #4468877 (external link)
Formatting the card in a card reader (to FAT - and not FAT32 - as you have learned) and then formatting it in the camera would have created the required folder structure and your camera would have probably worked just fine.

You may be correct. Placing a FAT formatted card in the camera and then formatting may have worked. I could not get the camera to format the cards at all so I quite trying. Just putting the card in the camera would produce a cf error and when I tried to do anything else it would error 99 and lock up.

None of this explains what caused it to happen in the first place. I'm just glad its working again.


Tim (external link)
Canon 20D, 18-55, 50 1.8, 75-300, 24-70 2.8L, 580EX
Charlotte NC Photography FB Group (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oomus
Senior Member
313 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Arizona
     
Jan 31, 2009 20:51 as a reply to  @ TimB's post |  #9

dont be too sure that it was the card.. I have had err99 several times and each time it was a shutterbox assembly that needed to be replaced. And yes it did start working for a while after words and yes I did have corrupt and black images on the cards when it happened.

Just FYI!

How many shots have you run through it to date?

Shutter box assy is only rated for 30K shots.

Mine seemed to last longer to much longer than that but I have put 2 in one 20D and three in the other and that one just went out again.

But I shoot alot of images every week.


Scott G.
WWW.AzClockStoppers.co​m (external link)
The Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
34,739 posts
Gallery: 94 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4571
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
     
Jan 31, 2009 20:55 |  #10

oomus wrote in post #7229311 (external link)
dont be too sure that it was the card.. I have had err99 several times and each time it was a shutterbox assembly that needed to be replaced. And yes it did start working for a while after words and yes I did have corrupt and black images on the cards when it happened.

Just FYI!

How many shots have you run through it to date?

Shutter box assy is only rated for 30K shots.

Mine seemed to last longer to much longer than that but I have put 2 in one 20D and three in the other and that one just went out again.

But I shoot alot of images every week.

I am sure the answer will be interesting since this post was over a year ago. ;)


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oomus
Senior Member
313 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Arizona
     
Feb 02, 2009 09:38 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #11

yeah I noticed that and that there was no outcome for it as well....


Scott G.
WWW.AzClockStoppers.co​m (external link)
The Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TimB
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
33 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Denver, North Carolina
     
Feb 02, 2009 10:35 as a reply to  @ oomus's post |  #12

IMG_8212.CR2 was this last image taken on the 20D and so far everything is good. Ive been reformatting the cards in the camera ever since this happened. Nothing replaced yet. Hope that helps.


Tim (external link)
Canon 20D, 18-55, 50 1.8, 75-300, 24-70 2.8L, 580EX
Charlotte NC Photography FB Group (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Benscoot
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Nov 2010
     
Nov 18, 2010 14:27 |  #13

I am having the exact problem almost to the T that the Orginal Poster described here. The only problem is that I am not having any success formatting or erasing or initializing the memory card. Any ideas? Is the Camera corrupting cards? This card is less than a month old. The last one lasted 6 months before it did this. This on only a month. How long on the next one?

Ben




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,211 views & 0 likes for this thread
ERROR 99, CF ERROR, 20D down for the count!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is skylader
830 guests, 388 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.