Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Jan 2008 (Sunday) 00:17
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

G9 - Need to change default image downloader

BobsYourUncle
Goldmember
1,529 posts
Joined Jan 2008

Jan 06, 2008 00:17 |  #1

I just bought my new G9 after using a G2 for the past 5 1/2 years. I only got it yesterday so I'm still learning all the nice features.

Anyhow - O - dummy me ! ! :oops: As I updated my Zoombrowser to v6 from the install CD and was playing around with it, I pulled a stupid and messed up the menu screen that allows you to select what program to run to download the images. I have always used the Canon Camerawindow to download pics with previous versions.

Here's what I did and I cannot figure out how to undo it. When I plugged in the USB cable and it invoked the window to select what program to use, I saw the EOS Utility listed there. For some silly reason, I thought this was the right one and I checked the box that says "Always use this program" As soon as I clicked OK, up comes the error message "Choose Canon Camerawindow for this camera" Arrrgh!! Bonehead!:evil:

Problem is, I cannot bring that menu back up to uncheck the box to use the EOS Utility as the default when I plug the G9.

Yeah, I know better! But I screwed up and didn't test the application first like I should have.

I have tried digging through the registry to see if I could find a place to change a value but couldn't find it.

I don't really feel like uninstalling and re-installing the danged thing.