Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 20 Feb 2008 (Wednesday) 00:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon RC-5 Wireless Remote

 
bhanu2217
Member
Avatar
64 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore,India
     
Feb 20, 2008 00:19 |  #1

Has anyone used this product or similar products?

Does it work like the shutter button, press half for focus and and than to click?

Do i have to point it straight towards the camera to click like a TV remote?

What is the main function of the Remote? to Click self images? or can it be used even from behind the camera?

Does it do the job of Remote switch RS-60E3?

Do u know other brands(cheaper) other than canon for this and have u used other brand other than Canon for this product?

What is the difference between RC-1,RC-5 and RS-60E3?


Body: Canon EOS 400D + BG-E3 Grip.
Lenses: Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
Accessories: Lowepro - Mini Trekker Classic, Canon RC-1,Remote Switch RS-60E3.
www.JamboreeBliss.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
simwells
Goldmember
1,504 posts
Joined Feb 2007
Location: Sheffield, UK
     
Feb 20, 2008 05:28 |  #2

bhanu2217 wrote in post #4954632 (external link)
Has anyone used this product or similar products?

I have not used one of these but did use an RC-1 when I used to have a 300D, it was ok at short distances and did the job I needed it to. Remember that both only work with the XX0D/Rebel series though.

bhanu2217 wrote in post #4954632 (external link)
Does it work like the shutter button, press half for focus and and than to click?

Neither the RC-1 or RC-5 have the half button press for focus, it just autofocuses when you press the button then takes the shot imediately after.

bhanu2217 wrote in post #4954632 (external link)
Do i have to point it straight towards the camera to click like a TV remote?

Yes you do, it's an IR remote just like a TV remote and the sensor is on the front of the camera so yes.

bhanu2217 wrote in post #4954632 (external link)
What is the main function of the Remote? to Click self images? or can it be used even from behind the camera?

That's totally up to you, yes it does excel with self images but you can stand behind the camera and shoot as long as you reach around the camera to take the shot. Just make sure your arm is out of view.

bhanu2217 wrote in post #4954632 (external link)
Does it do the job of Remote switch RS-60E3?

Basically yes, but the RS-60E3 is obviously a wired remote rather than wireless and has the ability to do bulb exposures and does have the half press function.

bhanu2217 wrote in post #4954632 (external link)
Do u know other brands(cheaper) other than canon for this and have u used other brand other than Canon for this product?

If you want wireless then the only ones you'll find cheaper are generic ones, but the phottix unit is very highly regarded on here but will cost a little bit more.

bhanu2217 wrote in post #4954632 (external link)
What is the difference between RC-1,RC-5 and RS-60E3?

RC-5 is a basic single button wireless IR remote.
RC-1 adds the functions of a bulb exposure mode and a 2 second delay but is also a wireless IR remote.
RS-60E3 is wired and adds the half press feature.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bhanu2217
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
64 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore,India
     
Feb 20, 2008 07:06 |  #3

Thank u.


Body: Canon EOS 400D + BG-E3 Grip.
Lenses: Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
Accessories: Lowepro - Mini Trekker Classic, Canon RC-1,Remote Switch RS-60E3.
www.JamboreeBliss.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maxdave
Goldmember
Avatar
1,162 posts
Gallery: 49 photos
Likes: 100
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
     
Feb 20, 2008 10:41 as a reply to  @ bhanu2217's post |  #4

Just to add ... my RC-5 worked with my 300D and works with my 400D, also using the self timer function on either the RC-5 will allow plenty of time to reach around and trip the shutter without getting your arm in the shot. It even gives you time to step in front, trip the shutter, and then retreat out of shot ...

Also, I seem to recall that on the Bulb setting, the first press opened the shutter and the next press closed it, with the result that long (30 seconds plus) exposures worked easily ... not sure, but that is what I think I remember ...

Maxdave


5D3,1D4,S90,6S&Moment Lenses,Hero4Silver,GPS​-E2,2x580EX,430EX,90EX,​EF16-35L f/4 IS,Samy SYTS24-C 24TS,EF24-105L IS,EF50 f/1.4,EF70-200 f/4L IS,EF300 f/4L IS,EF100-400L I IS,Kenko DGX 1.4X,Canon 2X TC Mk II, RRS&Pro-Media L-Brackets,Manfrotto MHXPRO-3WG & Roller 50,Sirui 306&K-20,Giottos MT-7371&MH-3300,Velbon ElCarmagne 530,CamRanger,Phottix&​Canon Remotes,Lowepro Backpack,ThinkTank Retro 20&Modular System,OpTech straps,Lexar/San Disk Cards

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nutsnbolts
Goldmember
Avatar
2,279 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
     
Feb 20, 2008 11:14 |  #5

I'll keep it simple for you.

Buy the RC1
Buy the RS-60E3 (wired backup)

You're set.

How about generic Brands?

There is many out there and all are essentially reliable. The build quality is what you have to worry about. IMO, I prefer Canon, I trust their build quality so it was a simple decision. It became a matter of which had better features.


Canon EOS 40D | EOS Rebel XTI/400D | G9
Lenses and Gear List
Review of my ThinkTank Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amairphoto
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,563 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 2889
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
     
Jan 30, 2009 10:56 |  #6

does anyone know a way of changing the timer time on the rc-1 from 2 seconds to 5?


My Website: http://www.amairphoto.​com (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,748 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon RC-5 Wireless Remote
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is julianribinik
818 guests, 287 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.