Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 15 Jun 2008 (Sunday) 01:33
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

remote camera setup examples anyone?

 
michael_
Goldmember
Avatar
3,450 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: sydney...
     
Jun 15, 2008 01:33 |  #1

ive got a gig in a few months and it will require the use of a remote camera setup to get as many shots as possible (its a car rally), i have the basic idea but wouldnt mind seeing others setups and eq and accessories required.

I have the following

2 x MarkIIIs
3 x PW IIs

will be getting one of these http://www.overxposed.​com/oxproplatform.html (external link) for the remote camera

now what other eq/accessories/cords wll i need to remotely trigger the 2nd camera either when i fire the main camera ie the same time or a few seconds later, ie i might be standing 100m away from the remote camera and want it to trigger as the vehicle goes past not 100m away or visa versa.

i am of the impression setting the remote camera to manual focus at fairly narrow apertureand or based on the hyoerfocal distance figures.

any help, links images would be great.


ichael ... (external link)
vettas media (external link) (me) | myGear (all my equipment) | sportshooter (external link) (my sportsshooter member page)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
michael_
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,450 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: sydney...
     
Jun 15, 2008 17:14 |  #2

interesting


ichael ... (external link)
vettas media (external link) (me) | myGear (all my equipment) | sportshooter (external link) (my sportsshooter member page)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Lorth
Senior Member
Avatar
530 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: not ukraine
     
Jun 15, 2008 17:26 |  #3

I have heard, and mind you this is what I have heard, but I have heard that the PW IIs dont fire in continuous burst when used as a remote. It does fire single frames but does not work with continuous drive. You are on the right track with the base and the equipment, but it sounds like you should invest in some multimaxes to get what you want to do (drive mode and enable firing a few seconds after your main). Good luck, Id love to see the results if possible. I love remote cameras and Im very interested in them.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,853 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
     
Jun 15, 2008 18:32 |  #4

Dan Lorth wrote in post #5726997 (external link)
I have heard, and mind you this is what I have heard, but I have heard that the PW IIs dont fire in continuous burst when used as a remote. It does fire single frames but does not work with continuous drive. You are on the right track with the base and the equipment, but it sounds like you should invest in some multimaxes to get what you want to do (drive mode and enable firing a few seconds after your main). Good luck, Id love to see the results if possible. I love remote cameras and Im very interested in them.

The reason the PW II (and the MutliMax for that matter) can not fire in continuous burst mode is not because they can't do it (because then can) but because the main camera triggering the remote camera is firing the transmitter in single shot mode (remember, the thing that's triggering the transmitter is the sync signal from the camera, the same signal which is used to fire a flash. If you pressed and held down the Test button on the transmitter, the remote camera will fire in burst mode as long as you keep the Test button held down (and assuming that the remote camera is in continuous frame mode).


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,853 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
     
Jun 15, 2008 18:37 |  #5

CIDER wrote in post #5724068 (external link)
ive got a gig in a few months and it will require the use of a remote camera setup to get as many shots as possible (its a car rally), i have the basic idea but wouldnt mind seeing others setups and eq and accessories required.

I have the following

2 x MarkIIIs
3 x PW IIs

will be getting one of these http://www.overxposed.​com/oxproplatform.html (external link) for the remote camera

now what other eq/accessories/cords wll i need to remotely trigger the 2nd camera either when i fire the main camera ie the same time or a few seconds later, ie i might be standing 100m away from the remote camera and want it to trigger as the vehicle goes past not 100m away or visa versa.

i am of the impression setting the remote camera to manual focus at fairly narrow apertureand or based on the hyoerfocal distance figures.

any help, links images would be great.

I'm not exactly sure what kind of info you're looking for other than what you've already mentioned. What you posted is basically what I would do, too.

The only comment I can add relates to your desire to fire the remote camera after a delay of a few seconds. Unfortunately, that will not be possible with just the PW Plus II units. You'll need at least one MultiMax to serve as either a transmitter or a receiver in order the program in the delay time you want.

I'm assuming the you already have a remote release cable to connect the PW unit to the remote camera. If not, that's one of the key components required to make remote shooting possible.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Lorth
Senior Member
Avatar
530 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: not ukraine
     
Jun 15, 2008 18:44 |  #6

PacAce wrote in post #5727256 (external link)
The reason the PW II (and the MutliMax for that matter) can not fire in continuous burst mode is not because they can't do it (because then can) but because the main camera triggering the remote camera is firing the transmitter in single shot mode (remember, the thing that's triggering the transmitter is the sync signal from the camera, the same signal which is used to fire a flash. If you pressed and held down the Test button on the transmitter, the remote camera will fire in burst mode as long as you keep the Test button held down (and assuming that the remote camera is in continuous frame mode).

thank you for the correction!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
michael_
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,450 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: sydney...
     
Jun 15, 2008 19:34 |  #7

PacAce wrote in post #5727273 (external link)
I'm not exactly sure what kind of info you're looking for other than what you've already mentioned. What you posted is basically what I would do, too.

The only comment I can add relates to your desire to fire the remote camera after a delay of a few seconds. Unfortunately, that will not be possible with just the PW Plus II units. You'll need at least one MultiMax to serve as either a transmitter or a receiver in order the program in the delay time you want.

I'm assuming the you already have a remote release cable to connect the PW unit to the remote camera. If not, that's one of the key components required to make remote shooting possible.

i dont have the cable, there seem to be a few different options on the PW site, so the only thing i can do with just the PWIIs is have the remote camera fire at the same time as the main camera?


ichael ... (external link)
vettas media (external link) (me) | myGear (all my equipment) | sportshooter (external link) (my sportsshooter member page)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,853 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
     
Jun 15, 2008 21:22 |  #8

CIDER wrote in post #5727546 (external link)
i dont have the cable, there seem to be a few different options on the PW site, so the only thing i can do with just the PWIIs is have the remote camera fire at the same time as the main camera?

Yes, assuming that you have the remote release cable, with the PW Plus II units you will only be able to fire the remote camera at the same time the main camera fires off a shot.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
michael_
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,450 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: sydney...
     
Jun 15, 2008 21:33 |  #9

so which do i need?

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …ails&Q=&sku=198​050&is=REG (external link)

or

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …ails&Q=&sku=198​049&is=REG (external link)

and is that all? then at a multimax to trigger seperately


ichael ... (external link)
vettas media (external link) (me) | myGear (all my equipment) | sportshooter (external link) (my sportsshooter member page)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,347 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2172
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Jun 15, 2008 21:38 |  #10

There might be something helpful in the "Similar Threads" links at the bottom-left of this page, too.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,853 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
     
Jun 15, 2008 21:42 |  #11

CIDER wrote in post #5728169 (external link)
so which do i need?

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …ails&Q=&sku=198​050&is=REG (external link)

or

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …ails&Q=&sku=198​049&is=REG (external link)

and is that all? then at a multimax to trigger seperately

You need the second one (the one with the N3 terminal on it) or something similar from another source.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
michael_
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,450 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: sydney...
     
Jun 15, 2008 21:50 |  #12

cheers frank and leo

frank i tried searching before i started the thread and nothig cae up, weird.


ichael ... (external link)
vettas media (external link) (me) | myGear (all my equipment) | sportshooter (external link) (my sportsshooter member page)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,347 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2172
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Jun 16, 2008 08:51 |  #13

i tried searching before i started the thread and nothig cae up,

Advanced search?

If you do a "Advanced" forum KEYWORD search in "Search Titles Only" for KEYWORD(s), you will find a lot of help.
Be sure and select the relevant area in the Search in Forum(s) fields.

If you do a "Advanced" forum KEYWORD search in "Search Titles Only" for a phrase in "KEYWORD(s)" with the quotes if it's a logical progression of words, (like +"depth of field") you will find a lot of help. This will put the threads that contain both at the top of the list, with threads that have one word or the other lower down.

Try it without the quotes for less related things like quartz temperature


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
johnms88
Goldmember
Avatar
1,053 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
     
Jun 16, 2008 11:16 |  #14

Could you just hold the PW and hold down the test button when you wanted the shot? Sorry, but that seems too obvious for it to actually work...lol.


1Dmk2n:16-35L:24-70L:Sigma 70-200: 85 1.8 : 50 1.8: www.stuiephoto.com (external link)https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=776396

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
primoz
POTN Sports Photographer of the year 2005
Avatar
2,532 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2004
Location: Anywhere where ski World cup makes its stop
     
Jun 16, 2008 15:20 as a reply to  @ PacAce's post |  #15

This actually makes sense, but in reality remote still works on 8fps even when PW is set in hotshoe of handhold camera. It might send trigger signals one by one, but main point is, that it works :)


PhotoSI (external link) | Latest sport photos (external link)http://www.photo.si (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,035 views & 0 likes for this thread
remote camera setup examples anyone?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is kaylaur
399 guests, 312 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.