Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 16 Jul 2008 (Wednesday) 05:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

adobe bridge conversion

 
ccp900
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2006
     
Jul 16, 2008 05:41 |  #1

hi guys

simple question.

i shoot a 30d, i convert cr2 to dng via the converter. i tweak the pictures then use image processor to convert them to jpeg, 640x480.

Now, after the conversion, my resolultion is now at 300dpi. My jpeg quality is set to 12.

I want to get them to 72 dpi out of the conversion, meaning i wouldnt wann run through the jpegs again to convert them from 300 dpi to 72 dpi.

is there a way to do this within the image processor dialog box? if i bring down the quality to around 6 would that mean the dpi would be around 150ish?

id try it out but im still stuck at the office and i cant get this darn thing out of my head. im OCD that way hehe.

thanks!!


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,935 posts
Likes: 339
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jul 16, 2008 06:05 |  #2

DPI is irrelevant, its the number of pixels that's important, read my printing FAQ or the PPI FAQ for more details.

I don't know a way to set the images to 72ppi within your workflow, you'd probably need to do the convert to jpg with an action - which is dead simple to do.

Maybe google Dr Browns 1-2-3 processor, it might do it, it's like image processor on steroids.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rivan
Member
Avatar
76 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Saint Louis, MO
     
Jul 16, 2008 10:27 |  #3

First, I'd also recommend you read the FAQs Tim mentioned.

Next, a few questions:

• For screen display, Tim is correct - dpi is totally irrelevant. Do you have another need for the DPI setting to be different?

• If so, which conversion step is setting the dpi to 300? CR2->DNG or the x->JPG step? If the former, you could easily build an action to apply during your 'tweaking' step.

Last comment: the quality setting in the image processor dialog pertains to compression level and has nothing to do with the dpi setting. The higher that number, the less-compressed the .jpg is, and the higher the quality, but the file is also larger. Lower numbers mean higher compression and (significantly) smaller file size but lowered fidelity to the original image.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Jul 16, 2008 13:21 |  #4

ccp900 wrote in post #5920239 (external link)
if i bring down the quality to around 6 would that mean the dpi would be around 150ish?

This line is making no sense at all: The quality setting relates to jpg compression, and has nothing to do with dpi / ppi.

tim wrote in post #5920334 (external link)
DPI is irrelevant,

Quoted for truth

tim wrote in post #5920334 (external link)
Maybe google Dr Browns 1-2-3 processor, it might do it, it's like image processor on steroids.

Yep. Image Processor doesn't, but 1-2-3-Process does.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ccp900
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2006
     
Jul 16, 2008 21:06 |  #5

hi guys, hehehe.

i just wanted a 72 dpi so people cant get good prints off of it. And yep, i just found out that the quuality setting is for compression and to actually change the dpi i need to go into a picture and edit the workflow settings underneath.

thanks for chiming in guys.


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,935 posts
Likes: 339
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jul 16, 2008 21:23 |  #6

Hopefully you realise it's the number of pixels that matters, as well as the jpg compression ratio.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ccp900
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2006
     
Jul 16, 2008 22:07 |  #7

yep, thats why i crunched it down to 640 x 480 pixels and only 72 dpi. Im correct on this right?


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,935 posts
Likes: 339
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jul 16, 2008 22:15 |  #8

You're correct, but try this. Open the image in photoshop, choose images -> resize, turn off resample, and enter 1 in the ppi box. Close and save the file with a new filename. Now open the original image again, image -> resize, turn off resample, enter 10000 in the ppi box. Save it as another new filename. Compare the two files in any image viewer you like and describe the differences to me.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aram535
Goldmember
Avatar
1,915 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
     
Jul 16, 2008 22:38 as a reply to  @ tim's post |  #9

Also JPEG compress of 12 is pretty meaningless for a 640x480 picture, for a single file.

If you're converting to JPEG for the compression and space, than 8-10 is a better range and will not effect the photo that much, but you save like 30-50% of the space.

If you're converting just because your Printer does accept TIFF files than find a new Printer.


Gear List * www.tranquilphotos.com (external link) * My Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ccp900
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2006
     
Jul 16, 2008 22:39 |  #10

ooohh. ok ill try that later when i get home. thanks tim.

im assuming the image would look the same because you didnt force the size to be set to something so if i move the ppi to 1 it bloats my size to some huge aount like 2,000,000 pixels by 3,000,000 pixels right? but the resolution wont change coz all the pixels are still accounted for.

so when i force the picture to just be 640 x 480 pixels and demanded that the dpi be 72 only it actually removed all the extra pixels....correct so far?

thanks tim!!


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ccp900
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2006
     
Jul 16, 2008 22:41 |  #11

hahaha thanks aram. i actually tried converting using 10 quality versus 12 and yep you cant see the difference but the size difference is substantial. I might change my conversion now to just be around 10 since theyre only for web viewing anyways. i dont really print my own pics, if i need them printed i trot on down to the nearest kiosk.


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,935 posts
Likes: 339
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jul 16, 2008 23:02 |  #12

ccp900 wrote in post #5925887 (external link)
so when i force the picture to just be 640 x 480 pixels and demanded that the dpi be 72 only it actually removed all the extra pixels....correct so far?

Nope, completely wrong. Remember we turned off resample, so the image will be exactly 640x480. I could tell you more but I suggest you try it yourself as I suggested above and find out for yourself, I know I learn better that way :)


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ccp900
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2006
     
Jul 16, 2008 23:43 |  #13

yep, agreed nothing beats experience...ima go do that in a few hours when i get off work. Will chime in after thanks tim...oooh goddamn its fri tom and im on leave hehehe...ill catch up on monday!!


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ccp900
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,533 posts
Likes: 136
Joined Jun 2006
     
Jul 20, 2008 20:53 |  #14

k, im back hehe.

tried the experiment and they looked the same, when i was changing the dpi though the size kept changing (size as in inches). so even though the picture was kept at 640 x 480, the size was changing like from 2 inches to .0002 inches.


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,935 posts
Likes: 339
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jul 20, 2008 21:07 |  #15

Correct. What difference did this make to how the image looked? None. So what difference does the ppi make? None. That was my point. Do you believe me now?

Note that this can make a difference for printing from some high end labs. My lab looks requires 250ppi and looks at the size in the exif to work out what size to print the image. This is a special, rare case.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,195 views & 0 likes for this thread
adobe bridge conversion
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is batman394
742 guests, 376 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.