Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 17 Jul 2008 (Thursday) 05:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

ISO with flash-help I'm so confused!!!

fidelis
425 posts
Joined Dec 2005

Jul 17, 2008 05:41 |  #1

Hi everyone,

I'm new to flash photography & have been reading different articles concerning it over the past week or so. I'm hoping that I may be able to gain a better understanding of it & how to apply it when natural light just isn't an option, say I was photographing someone indoors & it's just too dark to gain acceptable results by shooting at a higher iso (because of grain). By the way I shoot with a Canon 10D which is particularly noisy at high iso's. So I don't really want to shoot any higher than iso 400, is there anyway around this or is it possible to shoot at any iso when using flash indoors (i do apologise if this is a silly question, i still have a lot to learn)!

sponsored links
PaulBradley
278 posts
Joined May 2008

Jul 17, 2008 06:06 |  #2

It's possible to shoot at any ISO when using flash, providing that everything you want the flash to illuminate is within range, so when you're using ISO 100 the flash has less "reach" than at ISO 400 for example, but that said in most indoor situations you'll find you can shoot at ISO 100 if you want.