Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Marketplace & Market Info Market Watch 
Thread started 31 Jul 2008 (Thursday) 11:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Am I getting hustled?

Kento
Goldmember
1,207 posts
Joined Jul 2008

Jul 31, 2008 11:21 |  #1

So I am new to photography, but I did my homework and I know the ins and outs of what I am buying at least:

I was originally shopping around online for the canon 24-70 2.8L and 70-200mm 4.0L (Non IS) along with a 40D, I come along a website(Who will not be named unless I find out that I AM being hustled for sure that has these lenses along with the camera for 2400$, so I think "right on" and order up.

I get an e-mail telling me to call in and "confirm" so I do, and all of a suddon I am talking to an ex-car salesman or something, he confirms my order and the conversation goes like this:

Him: So are you new to photography?
Me: Yeah sure am.
Him: Well you know these lenses arnt digital right?
Me: Huh? What does that mean?
Him: It means they dont auto focus with the canon cameras, you need to get digital lenses.
Me: Well, it says they have Autofocus on the website
Him: Well these arnt actual canon lenses, they are vivicon(or something like that, he says they are knock off lenses of the real canon L lenses.)
Me: Huh? (They are labeled exactly like this on my order: 24-70mm f/2.8L USM Autofocus Lens Zoom Wide Angle-Telephoto EF Lens and 70-200mm f/4.0L USM Autofocus Lens JUST without the Canon in front of them)