Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 03 Aug 2008 (Sunday) 10:22
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Adobe Elements vs CS3?

Point-n-shoot-n
Goldmember
1,642 posts
Joined Jun 2008

Aug 03, 2008 10:22 |  #1

Hi, I am a basic newbie at this digital photo stuff although I have done quite a bit of film shooting in the past. I guess the question I have is whether I would benefit from having the CS3 or similar program for my image editing. I currently have the Adobe Elements 5.0 and have just gotten into the layers portion of PP. I have been able to get some nice results although I have just scratched the surface of the capabilities of the program. I am looking to do some more advanced skin smoothing and I believe the program I have does a fair job but some of the things I have seen on this forum are almost unbelievable! Are the capabilities of the more expensive programs the reason for the difference or is it the capabilities of the human that is directing the edits? One last question is how much should I expect to spend on a full version of CS3? Thanks for any and all input!

Canon 5D mk iii, Canon 5d classic, Rebel XTI 400D 18-55 kit lens, Canon EF 85mm 1:1.8, Canon EF 17-40 F4L, Quantaray 70-300 1:4-5.6 LD, Canon 70-200 F2.8 iiL, Canon EF135 F2 L, Canon 200 F2 L, Tamron 28-75 1:2.8 , 2 alien bee 800's, 430 EXii, 580 EXii, rectangular and octo softboxes, assorted umbrellas, portable backdrops, radio triggers and still adding.............

sponsored links
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA