Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Weddings & Other Family Events 
Thread started 28 Aug 2008 (Thursday) 18:54
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2nd wedding shoot

Pearlallica
Goldmember
1,302 posts
Joined Aug 2008

Aug 28, 2008 18:54 |  #1

I'm a senior graphic designer with strong roots in fine arts. I studied photography in college and spent many a day in the dark room. I abandoned the artform because of the high costs in lenses and the lack of salary. Well, I'm making the big bucks and I've just taken the plunge back into photography thanks to the recent affordability of D-SLRs. I've lined up a few shoots so far and I'm having to re-learn the principals of photography. On this day, I picked up a shoe mounted flash, something I had never used before. Perhaps not the best thing to do on a major assignment. For the most part it stayed off my camera for risk of losing control of my exposures. If I can go back to this wedding day (3 weeks ago) I'd certainly take advantage of fill flash techniques which I've recently adopted. There are harsh shadows through this shoot. Otherwise, I'm quite satisfied with compositions and DOF all in all. I can thank Lightroom for a great deal of post-processing to help leverage the emotions and fantasy elements of the pictures.

Only after the shoot did I learn about the 450D's HTP for contrast control. Looking back, I was certainly a victim of metering problems with the groom and bride's deceptive tones.