Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 16 Sep 2008 (Tuesday) 12:12
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Photoshop actions combing two images

 
breadandbutter
Senior Member
Avatar
520 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: South Florida
     
Sep 16, 2008 12:12 |  #1

Hi,
I'm trying to combine two pictures with one action.

I have a class picture and pictures of all the students in that class.

I would like to create one image of each student with the class picture and make it a photoshop action.

I've tried to create the action but no success.

Doing it manually is tedious and repetitive. Someone must know the answer.

Thank you for anyone who helps.

Kevin


It's a good day if I'm looking down at the grass and not up at the roots.
Kevin

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,278 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1621
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Sep 16, 2008 13:26 |  #2

so you have single shots of the students and you want to place the class one in the bottom corner?


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
Gear | Tweet (external link) | Insta (external link) | Ultimate Lens MA FoCal 2 (external link)| Ultimate RAW Editor (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
poloman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,442 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Southern Illinois
     
Sep 16, 2008 13:40 |  #3

So you want to batch a directory?
Can you get an action to do one?
What version of Photoshop do you have?


"All those who believe in psychokinesis, raise my right hand!" Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
breadandbutter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
520 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: South Florida
     
Sep 16, 2008 13:50 |  #4

Bobster wrote in post #6318164 (external link)
so you have single shots of the students and you want to place the class one in the bottom corner?

The portrait of the student in the top right corner and the class picture as the full size image.


poloman wrote in post #6318231 (external link)
So you want to batch a directory?

Yes

poloman wrote in post #6318231 (external link)
Can you get an action to do one?

Only one, then I get an error that says "The object 'previous document' is not currently available"

poloman wrote in post #6318231 (external link)
What version of Photoshop do you have?

I have Photoshop CS2


It's a good day if I'm looking down at the grass and not up at the roots.
Kevin

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
poloman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,442 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Southern Illinois
     
Sep 16, 2008 13:54 |  #5

Have you tried using file/scripts/image processor? In CS3 you can use this and add an action at the bottom. It will open every file in a directory and apply the action to it.


"All those who believe in psychokinesis, raise my right hand!" Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
breadandbutter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
520 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: South Florida
     
Sep 16, 2008 13:59 |  #6

Sweet!!! This opens a new door for me. I'll look into it and see what I can do.

Thanks poloman and Bobster.


It's a good day if I'm looking down at the grass and not up at the roots.
Kevin

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
poloman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,442 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Southern Illinois
     
Sep 16, 2008 14:04 |  #7

You welcome. That works really well. I use it for most of my conversions. So nice to be able to do the same thing to a bunch of files. If you have trouble with sizing, use percentages rather than measurements.


"All those who believe in psychokinesis, raise my right hand!" Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,278 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1621
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Sep 16, 2008 15:32 |  #8

i can't see that working tbh.. i'm thinking some stuff through

image processer won't help you with the class and adding a student in the top right..


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
Gear | Tweet (external link) | Insta (external link) | Ultimate Lens MA FoCal 2 (external link)| Ultimate RAW Editor (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
poloman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,442 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Southern Illinois
     
Sep 16, 2008 16:14 |  #9

Bobster....Image processor allows you to run an action on every image you process. Bet it will work.


"All those who believe in psychokinesis, raise my right hand!" Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,278 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1621
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Sep 16, 2008 16:55 |  #10

hmm, looks good running through image processor, colour me impressed ;)


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
Gear | Tweet (external link) | Insta (external link) | Ultimate Lens MA FoCal 2 (external link)| Ultimate RAW Editor (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,278 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1621
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Sep 16, 2008 18:13 |  #11

tutorial is done :)


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
Gear | Tweet (external link) | Insta (external link) | Ultimate Lens MA FoCal 2 (external link)| Ultimate RAW Editor (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
poloman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,442 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Southern Illinois
     
Sep 16, 2008 19:45 |  #12

A tutorial out of the impossible Bobster?
Don't I deserve a little credit?


"All those who believe in psychokinesis, raise my right hand!" Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Sep 16, 2008 20:42 |  #13

breadandbutter wrote in post #6318300 (external link)
Only one, then I get an error that says "The object 'previous document' is not currently available"

Which one is the "previous document"?

If the "repeating image" (group shot) is the previous document, and it isn't closed it should work. So you probably need to 'reverse the order'

Similar to the watermarking actionhere.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
breadandbutter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
520 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: South Florida
     
Sep 16, 2008 20:57 |  #14

Your tutorial is perfect. I read it and it helped me alot and it'll certainly help others.
Thank you so much.

René Damkot wrote in post #6320694 (external link)
Which one is the "previous document"?

If the "repeating image" (group shot) is the previous document, and it isn't closed it should work. So you probably need to 'reverse the order'

Similar to the watermarking actionhere.

You are right, but I never saw it until now. :lol:


It's a good day if I'm looking down at the grass and not up at the roots.
Kevin

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,278 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 1621
Joined May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
     
Sep 16, 2008 21:20 |  #15

poloman wrote in post #6320295 (external link)
A tutorial out of the impossible Bobster?
Don't I deserve a little credit?

well i did mention you, but image processor wasn't the answer, just a little easier than Batch thats all ;)


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
Gear | Tweet (external link) | Insta (external link) | Ultimate Lens MA FoCal 2 (external link)| Ultimate RAW Editor (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,758 views & 0 likes for this thread
Photoshop actions combing two images
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is countrygirl67
874 guests, 269 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.