Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 03 Oct 2008 (Friday) 05:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

full ISO stops, or 1/3?

 
mrklaw
Senior Member
678 posts
Joined Jan 2006
     
Oct 03, 2008 05:06 |  #1

for aperture/shutter speed, I use 1/3rd stops. But I have ISO set to full stops as I seem to think that they are the only 'real' stops, with inbetween ones being basically the nearest lower ISO bumped up by software.

Is this right? Ideally I suppose it would make sense to use 1/3 ISO settings so I can twiddle the wheel the same amount to compensate when fiddling.

What are your ISO settings, and is there any real reason to use one over the other?


_______________

no dear, it didn't cost much at all

my stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,475 posts
Likes: 196
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Oct 03, 2008 05:52 |  #2

Because I shoot only RAW and expose to the right, I have the camera set to full stop ISO increments. When converting the RAWs I frequently pull the exposure (because I have shot to the right) which is equivalent to lowering the ISO. Besides, without the 1/3 increments changing ISO is faster.

If I were to shoot jpgs I would use the 1/3 setting, shooting at 160, 320, 640 and 1250 when appropriate and avoiding 125, 250, and 500.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
8,831 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Sep 2005
Location: CT
     
Oct 03, 2008 05:53 |  #3

I use the 1/3 stops, I don't see any appreciable difference in noise or anything.


connecticut wedding photographer (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hughps
Member
Avatar
165 posts
Joined Feb 2008
     
Oct 03, 2008 06:27 |  #4

I understand that only the pro bodies have true 1/3 ISO stops, the 5D and x0D just overexpose by the next full ISO stop and then bring that down either 1/3rd or 2/3rds of a stop. You lose DR that way, but it's negligible.


Hugh

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tsmith
Formerly known as Bluedog_XT
Avatar
10,429 posts
Likes: 25
Joined Jul 2005
Location: South_the 601
     
Oct 03, 2008 06:56 as a reply to  @ hughps's post |  #5

Follow this link to learn the answer: click right here (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mrklaw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
678 posts
Joined Jan 2006
     
Oct 03, 2008 07:02 |  #6

Tsmith wrote in post #6429157 (external link)
Follow this link to learn the answer: click right here (external link)

interesting, thanks. So turn them off :)


_______________

no dear, it didn't cost much at all

my stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,674 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Oct 03, 2008 07:07 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

tzalman wrote in post #6428944 (external link)
Because I shoot only RAW and expose to the right, I have the camera set to full stop ISO increments. When converting the RAWs I frequently pull the exposure (because I have shot to the right) which is equivalent to lowering the ISO. Besides, without the 1/3 increments changing ISO is faster.

If I were to shoot jpgs I would use the 1/3 setting, shooting at 160, 320, 640 and 1250 when appropriate and avoiding 125, 250, and 500.

Same here, full stop ISO as I shoot RAW most of the time.


What we see depends mainly on what we look for.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,306 posts
Likes: 2336
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Oct 03, 2008 07:26 |  #8

I turned them off a while ago and just use the full stops preferring to do any adjustments in post myself.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
arkphotos
Senior Member
455 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Plano, Texas
     
Oct 03, 2008 09:09 |  #9

Tsmith wrote in post #6429157 (external link)
Follow this link to learn the answer: click right here (external link)

Thanks for the link - very ineresting read.

I am a little suprised that people to not gripe more about canon not supporting 1/3 ISO stops in HW (for the xxD series).

I have been trying to ETR so I have to pull the exposure back in post anyway.
I am going to turn off my 1/3 ISO stops right now :)


1.6 crop & some lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DDWD10
Goldmember
Avatar
1,676 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: College Station, TX
     
Oct 03, 2008 09:16 |  #10

I would turn them off... if I had the option :) 10D here


30D | X-Pro1 | X10 | Q
EF-S 18-55mm IS | XF 35mm f/1.4 R | Q 5-15mm f/2.8-4.5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kippei
Member
61 posts
Joined May 2008
     
Oct 03, 2008 09:19 |  #11

So do i.... *turn off*




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jim ­ G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
Avatar
12,253 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Australia.
     
Oct 03, 2008 09:20 |  #12

Full stops - I tried 1/3 stops with the 1D and didn't like 'em. Didn't feel a need.


Gear Listhttp://www.codastudios​.com.au (external link) Reviews & Hotlinks: Domke F-3x - Pelican 1510/1514 (external link) & 1610/1614 (external link) - DIY Variable Length OC-E3 - Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Home (external link) - FA-100 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 225
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Oct 03, 2008 09:24 |  #13

Full stops here too. If I'm changing ISO I want to make a fairly significant change in my shutter speed and or aperture; all those intermediate steps are just too fiddly.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Riff ­ Raff
Goldmember
Avatar
1,111 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
     
Oct 03, 2008 09:25 |  #14

Full stops only for ISO. 1/3 stops on aperture and shutter speed.


Shawn McHorse - Shawn.McHorse.com (external link) / AustinRocky.org (external link)
DSLR: 5D Mark III Compact: S100 Flash: 580EX II Bag: Tamrac Rally 5
Lenses: 16-35mm f/2.8L II, 24-70mm f/2.8L, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS,
50mm f/1.4, 85mm f/1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jannie
Goldmember
4,936 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Oct 03, 2008 09:27 |  #15

I can't find a function to turn them off on the 5D. As I understand that link, the 5D is also one of the cameras that it's not good to use the 1/3 stop ISO variations, am I reading that right?


Ms.Jannie
"When you come to a fork in the road, take it"!
1DMKIII, 85LII, 24-70L, 100-400L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,854 views & 0 likes for this thread
full ISO stops, or 1/3?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is AlexRapp
1207 guests, 287 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.