Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 24 Oct 2008 (Friday) 10:53
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

The best PP softwares??

asty80
584 posts
Joined Aug 2008

Oct 24, 2008 10:53 |  #1

Which are the better PP softwares? I am a newbie to this field (exp of about 6 months) and haven't really used any photoshop software. I have tried the canon supplied DPP program and nothing else.

Looking at all the discussions in the forum, looks like I'm lagging big time!
Which would be a good software to buy? And how much would it cost (approx)in USD? Also, do any softwares have free upgrades? or do they become extinct once a new version arrives?

thanks!

Canon 5D Mark iii, Canon 40D
24-105mm f/4 L IS, Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, 50mm f/1.8, 100-400L, 100mm macro, 430ex ii, SLIK 700DX tripod
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/shyamyag (external link)
:)

gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
55,304 posts
Joined Aug 2006

Oct 24, 2008 11:00 |  #2

All depends on what you’re looking to do and how deeply into image editing you want to get. My tool of choice is Photoshop CS3. It is powerful, capable of way more than I know how to use and rather expensive. Adobe does make a scaled down version for much less called Photoshop Elements. It gives much of the capability of PSCS3 at a fraction of the cost. Then you got Paint Shop pro, Digital Image Suite, PhotoLab, GIMP, IrfanView, and many others.

Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.