Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 01 Nov 2008 (Saturday) 13:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Display colorspace in Lightroom

 
trailstar
Member
98 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
     
Nov 01, 2008 13:35 |  #1

Hi,

has anyone found a way to display the color space for a given picture in Lightroom 2.0? I can't find it under View->View Options.

I know it doesn't matter for the rendering of the actual image in Lightroom (Prophoto RGB), but sometimes I need to sort my images by Color Space.

Trond


EOS 5D, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 II L,EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L, EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS, 580EX II
www.pbase.com/trond (external link)
terrengsykkel.no (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Nov 01, 2008 15:14 |  #2

Not possible AFAIK.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Damo77
Goldmember
Avatar
4,687 posts
Likes: 111
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
     
Nov 01, 2008 16:01 |  #3

Off topic, sorry, but I've been wondering about this for a while - does Lightroom really "think" in ProPhoto? Given that I've been lead to believe that Photoshop "thinks" in LAB, why did Adobe decide to change their whole colour architecture for the new product? That can't have been a small task.


Damien
Website (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,491 posts
Likes: 205
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Nov 02, 2008 01:56 |  #4

Damo77 wrote in post #6604498 (external link)
Off topic, sorry, but I've been wondering about this for a while - does Lightroom really "think" in ProPhoto? Given that I've been lead to believe that Photoshop "thinks" in LAB, why did Adobe decide to change their whole colour architecture for the new product? That can't have been a small task.

From things I've read, the LR development team worked entirely separately from the PS people and were given a green light to build it from scratch, or at least from Raw Shooter. BTW, the internal working space is a variation on ProPhoto called Melissa or Melinda or something like that; somebody's gf/wife/daughter.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Damo77
Goldmember
Avatar
4,687 posts
Likes: 111
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
     
Nov 02, 2008 02:16 |  #5

Interesting, thanks.


Damien
Website (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Nov 02, 2008 08:11 |  #6

Melissa RGB.
IIRC it's ProPhoto RGB gamut, with a different gamma.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
trailstar
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
98 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
     
Nov 02, 2008 11:47 |  #7

Thanks for the responses, LR doesn´t seem to have this option. Maybe in a later version.


EOS 5D, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 II L,EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L, EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS, 580EX II
www.pbase.com/trond (external link)
terrengsykkel.no (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,222 views & 0 likes for this thread
Display colorspace in Lightroom
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Cmjewell
842 guests, 237 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.