Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 01 Nov 2008 (Saturday) 15:34
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

40D - Image Sharpening and Settings - do they adjust RAW quality

 
David ­ Ransley
Senior Member
Avatar
673 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Nov 01, 2008 15:34 |  #1

Hi, my understanding is that canon ships the 40D with modest settings for sharpening. The max I think is three and it only affects JPEGs. When I download the RAW file and view it, I notice that the sharpening factor in the RAW file is exactly where I had it for the shot on the camera. Example: Set STANDARD to 6 and take a shot witha Standard profile. The RAW will show 5 and I can adjust it up and down during processing.

The fact that I see 5, doesn't imply that the camera did some stuff on its own. It only means that if I opted for a RAW and a JPEG conversion that the 5 would have been used by the camera for the conversion. The RAW is still RAW and I can move it back to 0 to see the real results.

Is this correct?


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bukka
Senior Member
318 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Nov 01, 2008 16:14 |  #2

What program are you using to look at the images?
Each raw editor, has it's own default sharpening settings that the camera settings have no impact over. Except in the case of the canon software, which I think will use the on camera settings to display the raw for you, rather than using some default settings.
I'm not too sure about that, since I use adobe lightroom, and I have it set to show everything at a very neutral tone to start.


Switched to the "dark side" but I like these boards.
Digital: Nikon D200
Lenses: Nikkor 50 1.8D, Nikkor-P 55 macro 3.5, Nikkor 35 1.8G Nikkor 85 1.8.
Film: Canonet QL17 G-III, Bell&Howel/Canon Dial 35,

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Ransley
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
673 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Nov 01, 2008 16:24 |  #3

I use Canons, digital professional that ships with the 40D and recently I did upgrade by downloading the latest version from them. I have no issues and it works fine. Just a thought I had when I saw the setting already at 5 or 6 and I expected to see it at zero.

<ctrl><T> for the toolbox, RAW TAB and look at the lower part for sharpening.


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TaDa
...as cool as Perry
Avatar
6,742 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: New York
     
Nov 01, 2008 16:29 |  #4

Yes, any picture styles or in camera settings do not impact RAW files. Your post processing program may have default import settings, but the files right out of the camera are just as they were when they hit the sensor.


Name is Peter and here is my gear:
Canon 5D II, Canon 7D, Canon 40D
Glass - Zeiss 21 f/2.8 ZE, Canon 35 f/1.4L, Canon 40 f/2.8 STM, Canon 24-70 f/2.8
L, Canon 85 f/1.2L II, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, Canon 500 f/4L IS
Speedlite 580ex II, 430ex - Gitzo GT-3541XLS w/ Arca B1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Ransley
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
673 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Nov 01, 2008 16:35 |  #5

TaDa wrote in post #6604621 (external link)
Yes, any picture styles or in camera settings do not impact RAW files. Your post processing program may have default import settings, but the files right out of the camera are just as they were when they hit the sensor.

Thanks for the confirmation. The setting is therefore just a reminder on what you have set on the camera for onboard JPEG conversions.


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TaDa
...as cool as Perry
Avatar
6,742 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: New York
     
Nov 01, 2008 16:52 |  #6

David Ransley wrote in post #6604641 (external link)
Thanks for the confirmation. The setting is therefore just a reminder on what you have set on the camera for onboard JPEG conversions.

Correct. I happen to keep my sharpening cranked all the way up on my camera. The body is displaying a jpg to you when you review your shots, and with sharpening cranked, it's easier to tell if a shot is sharp or not on the little screen. When I get the shots out of the body, no need to worry about them being over-sharpened as they're untouched RAWs.


Name is Peter and here is my gear:
Canon 5D II, Canon 7D, Canon 40D
Glass - Zeiss 21 f/2.8 ZE, Canon 35 f/1.4L, Canon 40 f/2.8 STM, Canon 24-70 f/2.8
L, Canon 85 f/1.2L II, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, Canon 500 f/4L IS
Speedlite 580ex II, 430ex - Gitzo GT-3541XLS w/ Arca B1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Ransley
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
673 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
     
Nov 01, 2008 16:58 |  #7

TaDa wrote in post #6604718 (external link)
Correct. I happen to keep my sharpening cranked all the way up on my camera. The body is displaying a jpg to you when you review your shots, and with sharpening cranked, it's easier to tell if a shot is sharp or not on the little screen. When I get the shots out of the body, no need to worry about them being over-sharpened as they're untouched RAWs.

This is a good tip. I must investigate whether I have better results on zooming into a shot to look at the detail with the levels crancked up.


DRH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sorarse
Goldmember
Avatar
2,193 posts
Likes: 21
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Kent, UK
     
Nov 01, 2008 19:40 |  #8

I don't generally use DPP, preferring ACR in Photoshop, but doesn't DPP allow you to import RAW and apply camera settings? I believe it's an option in DPP that you can turn on/off as required.


At the beginning of time there was absolutely nothing. And then it exploded! Terry Pratchett

http://www.scarecrowim​ages.com (external link)
Canon PowerShot G2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,203 views & 0 likes for this thread
40D - Image Sharpening and Settings - do they adjust RAW quality
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is idauria
1177 guests, 233 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.