Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
Thread started 01 Dec 2008 (Monday) 07:33
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

G10 movie size issue, won't move to PC

 
monkshooter
Junior Member
Avatar
23 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
     
Dec 01, 2008 07:33 |  #1

2.6 gig movie won't move to PC and data is wrong on G10
- camera says 22 min movie at 2.6 gig; but the move actually played for 32 min
- when I copy the movie over to PC, it places an empty 0 kb file on pc

Camera: G10, card: SanDisk III 4GB
PC: HP desktop running XP

Note: movie will play on camera
Note: short movies will play on camera and transfer and work on PC
Note: the card was low level formatted before use and has been working fine for > 25 days.

My theory: something to do with the over 2 gig file size and sdhc card capacity/capability. maybe also something to do with XP and file size issue, but don't think PC related, since I work with large video files and move them around (from other sources and software).

Any thoughts by anyone?


previous: G3 (lost by the kids)
now: 20D, 40D, G10

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
archosman
Senior Member
325 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: NashVegas!
     
Dec 02, 2008 08:54 |  #2

I believe if your drive is formatted FAT32 then yes... once you hit the 2 gig file size you're boned.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
monkshooter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
Avatar
23 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
     
Dec 05, 2008 13:28 |  #3

My C Drive is NTFS, so we have to keep thinking on this. Thanks for the response.


previous: G3 (lost by the kids)
now: 20D, 40D, G10

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
abdulMuiz
Junior Member
Avatar
22 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Dec 06, 2008 09:03 |  #4

archosman wrote in post #6797271 (external link)
I believe if your drive is formatted FAT32 then yes... once you hit the 2 gig file size you're boned.

whatdya mean? u cant record movie up to 2 G in G10?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wingspar
Member
Avatar
76 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
     
Dec 06, 2008 11:15 as a reply to  @ abdulMuiz's post |  #5

How are you transferring the files? Directly from the camera via USB cable, or with a card reader?

How much space do you have on the hard drive? Have you tried with another computer?

If all fails, and the G10 has the capability to edit videos in camera, try shortening the video till you get it under 2gb.


Gary
Will Fly for Food

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobsYourUncle
Goldmember
Avatar
1,532 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
     
Dec 06, 2008 14:40 as a reply to  @ wingspar's post |  #6

Will it let you stick the card in the reader and drag it over with Windows Explorer?


Set Goals!! If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!
EOS 70D
G1X .... and this other stuff
G11 and
380EX & 430EX
G9 - DEAD (self destructed) I'll fix it one day!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
marc515
Member
232 posts
Joined Sep 2006
     
Dec 06, 2008 14:58 as a reply to  @ BobsYourUncle's post |  #7

I noticed that I could not transfer large movies directly from my G9 to my computer. I was able to transfer with no problem using the Sandisk MicroMate reader card that came with my SDHC.

Have not tried transferring large moves with my G10 yet

marc


Best regards,......Marc
It doesn't get any better thank this!
Gear: Canon S90; Fuji J110

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Piet
Senior Member
Avatar
295 posts
Joined May 2008
     
Dec 07, 2008 11:03 |  #8

Same here with my G9, files >2GB are not transfered out of the camera (Zoombrowser, PSE, ...) but have to be read via a card reader.
I agree to monkshooters theory reagarding this issue.


Regards,
Piet

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
archosman
Senior Member
325 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: NashVegas!
     
Dec 07, 2008 17:28 |  #9

File size limitation on the camera perhaps? I usually use a card reader anyway.

Wonder if it's a corrupt file.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
archosman
Senior Member
325 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: NashVegas!
     
Dec 07, 2008 17:33 |  #10

Interesting. I just reformatted my card in camera and it formats FAT32 on the card.

My computer's a Macbook Pro.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
monkshooter
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
Avatar
23 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
     
Dec 07, 2008 17:44 |  #11

I don't have a sdhc card reader, so have been trying to move from the camera to the pc using the camera. What I did not do was try to use the Canon software to move the movie. I was just trying to drag it off the camera. I noticed today while reading in depth the manual there as a cryptic note about having to use the Canon software to move movies. I have not tried that yet. Will in the next day or so.

cryptic message is on page 77 of the Software Starter Guide that came with the G10, it says:
"Movies may not download correctly if the file size of software program is incompatible." I have no idea what that really means.

So why am I not trying to do this today to test? I left the camera at my friends house last night after the Christmas party. It was a good party.


previous: G3 (lost by the kids)
now: 20D, 40D, G10

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdicker
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 12, 2009 01:01 as a reply to  @ monkshooter's post |  #12

I've had the same problem with files bigger than 1Gb. Software supplied with the camera was the Ulead stuff. I haven't had much luck with it. My best solution so far is to edit the files on the camera to 4 minute sections and transfer the smaller files. Have you had any success with other methods of transferring larger video files?
Tony




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dirtbauer
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
     
Aug 20, 2009 13:01 |  #13

How are the movies quality with the G10? Just ordered a G10

monkshooter wrote in post #6790348 (external link)
2.6 gig movie won't move to PC and data is wrong on G10
- camera says 22 min movie at 2.6 gig; but the move actually played for 32 min
- when I copy the movie over to PC, it places an empty 0 kb file on pc

Camera: G10, card: SanDisk III 4GB
PC: HP desktop running XP

Note: movie will play on camera
Note: short movies will play on camera and transfer and work on PC
Note: the card was low level formatted before use and has been working fine for > 25 days.

My theory: something to do with the over 2 gig file size and sdhc card capacity/capability. maybe also something to do with XP and file size issue, but don't think PC related, since I work with large video files and move them around (from other sources and software).

Any thoughts by anyone?


Canon 40D G10
http://www.dirtbauer.c​om (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
10megapixel
"I'm a little slow"
Avatar
3,872 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Â…Â…Surrounded by Corn and Rednecks in Indiana
     
Aug 20, 2009 13:09 as a reply to  @ dirtbauer's post |  #14

There not bad at all. Just search you tube for "G10 movie" Of course the quality looks much better straight from the cam on your television than on the internet. Personally, I would choose the SD780 if video was my main concern on a P&S, the HD video on that little camera is VERY impressive.



Gear List & Feedback



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,136 views & 0 likes for this thread
G10 movie size issue, won't move to PC
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Coolbawncross
664 guests, 159 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.