Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
Thread started 03 Jan 2009 (Saturday) 15:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

SX10 problem

 
2Shiny
Senior Member
Avatar
325 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 12
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Stevens Point, WI
     
Jan 03, 2009 15:00 |  #1

Whenever I hold the shutter button down halfway on my SX10 and recompose the shot, the camera makes a tapping noise, presumably from the autofocus system. It will keep making this sound once or twice per second for as long as I'm holding the shutter button down halfway.
Does anyone else's SX10 make this noise? I didn't notice the ones at Best Buy or Walmart making this noise.


Paul
D20, SX40

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 221
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Jan 03, 2009 16:14 |  #2

Mine doesn't appear to. What have you set AF and IS to? If AF is at "Continuous" and there's much variation in distance between where you prefocused and where the AF box ends up, you might be hearing the lens AF. Or, you might be hearing IS depending on your settings there.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2Shiny
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
325 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 12
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Stevens Point, WI
     
Jan 03, 2009 16:52 |  #3

Before I read your post, I had the AF set to "single" and the IS set to "shoot only". I tried adjusting the AF to continuous, which had no effect on the noise problem. I switched the IS setting to "continuous" and to "off", both of which had no effect either. I even selected "save settings" after each of these changes.
The noise was still present every time. I focused on something about 3 feet away, held the shutter button down halfway, and slowly lifted the camera to focus on objects further and further away. Everytime I lifted the camera, it made the noise.


Paul
D20, SX40

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 221
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Jan 03, 2009 17:03 |  #4

Does this sound like the "chuk-chuk" you get when the camera's hunting for focus, racking the lens back and forth, especially at longer focal lengths or with low contrast?


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotoFranz
Goldmember
Avatar
1,639 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
     
Jan 04, 2009 09:28 |  #5

I just tried mine. No noise.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/photofranz/ (external link)
Camera: Fujifilm HS 50 EXR 42X zoom, Sigma Electronic Flash EF 500 DG ST, Vegas Movie Studio 9.0, Noiseware Standard Edition, Photoshop Elements-11, Photomatix Essentials. I am here to learn from the experts.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2Shiny
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
325 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 12
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Stevens Point, WI
     
Jan 06, 2009 23:44 |  #6

Sorry for the late response...I didn't get an email showing any other replies to this thread.

It is sort of a "chuck chuck" type sound, yes. If I zoom into an object a bit, hold the shutter button down halfway, and slowly pan around the room, it keeps making the sound. If I stop moving the camera, it stops. But if I'm outside with the camera at full zoom (capturing a bird or other distant object), the camera shake alone at a long focal length will cause the noise to happen. It's obviously adjusting something, but I don't know what or if it should be making this noise.


Paul
D20, SX40

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 221
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Jan 07, 2009 07:28 |  #7

The only time I got any sound like that was when my SX-10 was adjusting focus. I hear similar sounds though, when the IS on several of my DSLR lenses kicks in.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jaffersultan
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Oct 2008
     
Feb 08, 2009 21:02 |  #8

Hello
I bought Canon Sx10 in Nov 08. Initially i did not observe any problem. But since last two weeks i am observing "Chak Chak" (or what ever you call it) noise while i make a slow zoom (+ or -). What's furstrating is that this noise is very prominant in my video recordings, which is not the case in initial video recordings. Also, now during the video recordings, camera seems to have a tough time while maintaining its focus on the subject... Also yes, the same chak chak noise, when I press the shutter button half way as the camera continously focuses and defocuses espacially in digital zoom region.
I couldnot find the solution so I have given the camera to Canon service centre... see if they can find the solution. If it works i will let you know..




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,102 views & 0 likes for this thread
SX10 problem
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Photoncatch
890 guests, 321 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.