Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 07 Feb 2009 (Saturday) 18:42
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5DmkII AF bad alignment problem!!

 
Candersson
Goldmember
Avatar
1,143 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
     
Feb 07, 2009 18:42 |  #1

I tried the search function here on POTN but didn't find anything on this problem...

I was reading on a Swedish forum about a serious AF aligment problem on the 5DmkII.
The guy testing could not get consistant results when trying to adjust a lens with the Micro Adjust feature. The results shown was just terrible.
He had two 5DmkII and both showed the same problem. Another guy did the same test with his camera and had the same result!!
Now, I thought this was a bit alarming so I decided to check it out.
This is how the test was performed
- Lense used, my brand new 50/1.4, set at 1.4
- Camera on tripod
- Distance to object abt 1 meter
- AF mode in One Shot
- Select center AF point
- First auto focus on your hand or whatever
- Refocus on object and take the shot
- Repeat/refocus between each shot
- After the third shot, use manual focus, live view, magnify x10, and do your best

(let's forget about the exposure... I had different light during the sessions)

The full picture

IMAGE: http://www.anderssonbros.com/photofolder/50_MAN1_size.jpg

I aimed for the barcode in the center of the box

IMAGE: http://www.anderssonbros.com/photofolder/50_resultat.jpg

As I was stunned I repeated the test again with the following result

IMAGE: http://www.anderssonbros.com/photofolder/50_resultat1.jpg

Well, what can you say... :eek:

I tried the same set up with my 24-105, set at 50mm and f4

IMAGE: http://www.anderssonbros.com/photofolder/24-105_test2_resultat.jpg

seems OK...

One should note that when using a faster lens, like the f1.4, the camera is also using the 6 invisible AF points.

The guy with the two 5DmkII bodies had them both realigned at Canon service and after that - all OK
My 5DmkII body is going back for realignment next week!

(FWIW, I also tried the 50/1.4 on my 40D the same way as above with perfect result)

Anyone else having problems with focus shifting??

It feels like a bad quality control issue......

- Thomas -
1DX/1DIV/7D/5DmkII and Lenses | WWW (external link)
So much to learn, so little time...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Kris_2020
Senior Member
Avatar
516 posts
Likes: 38
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Canada, Ontario
     
Feb 07, 2009 19:00 |  #2

So you have to go through all those steps to archive this?? The hand between the subject??


Canon 5D IV | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 IS L Mark 2 | Canon 85mm f/1.8 | 580 EX II
_______________
Flickr Site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Candersson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,143 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
     
Feb 07, 2009 19:06 as a reply to  @ Kris_2020's post |  #3

???
It was just to explain to avoid any further discussion on how/what was done...
And sorry for my bad English.... text rephrased :rolleyes:


- Thomas -
1DX/1DIV/7D/5DmkII and Lenses | WWW (external link)
So much to learn, so little time...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JeffreyG
"my bits and pieces are all hard"
Avatar
15,462 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Likes: 562
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Detroit, MI
     
Feb 07, 2009 20:16 |  #4

Kris_2020 wrote in post #7276755 (external link)
So you have to go through all those steps to archive this?? The hand between the subject??

I think what the OP is saying is that this accuracy problem is occuring when the AF moves between shots. Presumably if you are asking for it to refocus at the same point over and over it does not occur. So the hand trick is just to get the AF to move for every shot.


My personal stuff:http://www.flickr.com/​photos/jngirbach/sets/ (external link)
I use a Canon 5DIII and a Sony A7rIII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,825 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 444
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Feb 07, 2009 20:50 as a reply to  @ JeffreyG's post |  #5

That's not a problem. That's manufacturing tolerance.

The tolerance for the autofocus system is to place the focus point within the Depth of Focus range (which is a calculation of the distance to subject, the maximum aperture of the lens, and the permissible circle of confusion). It only has to get the focus point somewhere within that range--and not necessarily at the same point within the range each time.

The goal of the system calculations is to produce a print that looks sharp at the intended focus point when the image is enlarged to 12x16.5cm and viewed at a distance of 25-30cm (according Canon's "Lens Work III," page 204). If you print the image to that size and view it from that distance, I suspect every shot will look sharp.

At your enlargement, you're looking "within" the tolerance and seeing the permissible variance.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
datadump
Goldmember
Avatar
1,932 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Canada
     
Feb 07, 2009 21:17 |  #6

canon 50 f/1.4 has some inconsistency. I'd doubt this is the camera.
my 50 f/1.4 behaves similar in crummy lighting, on my former 30D and my 1Dmark3. (the sigma 50 f/1.4 was worse for me so i stuck with the canon)

btw, exposure is important.. u should try these tests with adequate lighting and proper exposure in M mode imo.


datadump

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 46
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Feb 07, 2009 21:45 |  #7

I think the problem is with your 50mm f/1.4 and not with the camera.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
silvex
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,304 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 41
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Southern California, USA
     
Feb 08, 2009 03:53 |  #8

Bob_A wrote in post #7277664 (external link)
I think the problem is with your 50mm f/1.4 and not with the camera.

Yeah...I would suggest microadjusting the lens for the 5DMkII...


.
-Ed
CPS Platinum Member.
Canon Gear
SilvexPhoto.comexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GMCPhotographics
Goldmember
Avatar
2,369 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 133
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Wiltshire, UK
     
Feb 08, 2009 05:10 |  #9

I've yet to try a 50mm f1.4 usm lens that has reliable focussing. I think it's because it's not using a ring type USM motor but a variation of the older micro motor design but using a slightly better motor. My copy is probably the worst AF accuracy in my entire lens collection. Even my old 50mm f1.8 mkI is more reliable. Even my 85mm f1.2 II L blows my 50mm f1.4 away for focus speed and accuracy, which is surprising.


Regards, Gareth Cooper
"If you’re happy and honest and fulfilled in what you do, then you’re having a successful life" (Ben Elton)
Gear List Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
roger767
Member
190 posts
Joined May 2007
     
Feb 08, 2009 05:21 as a reply to  @ silvex's post |  #10

is it the canon 1.4 or the sigma 1.4? neither have good trackrecords with AF.


www.rogerschooneveld.n​l (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Candersson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,143 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
     
Feb 08, 2009 05:56 |  #11

roger767 wrote in post #7279241 (external link)
is it the canon 1.4 or the sigma 1.4? neither have good trackrecords with AF.

It's the Canon 50/f1.4 lens

I can relate to what RDKirk is writing about this being within tolerance.
With the high resolution these types of issues are more visible.

Nevertheless I want my camera to focus properly and exact.
And as I understand from the guy that had this problem sorted out, it is possible to correct at Canon Service.
The next step is to have the lens checked (it's working fine on the 40D though)


- Thomas -
1DX/1DIV/7D/5DmkII and Lenses | WWW (external link)
So much to learn, so little time...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PaulB
Goldmember
1,543 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Leeds, Yorkshire
     
Feb 08, 2009 07:57 as a reply to  @ Candersson's post |  #12

1 metre is too close for a 'normal' (not macro) lens, try again at a greater distance - 50x the focal length used to be the distance used for lens testing ( a real pain with long telephotos............​...)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Feb 08, 2009 08:40 as a reply to  @ PaulB's post |  #13

With a distance of only a metre and f/1.4 the DoF is going to be wafer thin.

I suspect anyone trying to achieve consistant results using those parameters would struggle. After all there will always be slight inconsistencies in the system.

At f/4 the DoF is obviously greater.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
silvex
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,304 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 41
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Southern California, USA
     
Feb 08, 2009 11:33 |  #14

Canon recommends to do focus test with subjects at least 2m (~6ft) from the camera.


.
-Ed
CPS Platinum Member.
Canon Gear
SilvexPhoto.comexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Candersson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,143 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
     
Feb 08, 2009 12:43 |  #15

silvex wrote in post #7280770 (external link)
Canon recommends to do focus test with subjects at least 2m (~6ft) from the camera.

Thanks. Point taken ;)
I will do more tests with a distance of at least 2,5 meter


- Thomas -
1DX/1DIV/7D/5DmkII and Lenses | WWW (external link)
So much to learn, so little time...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,184 views & 0 likes for this thread
5DmkII AF bad alignment problem!!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is joni H
860 guests, 329 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.