Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Feb 2009 (Sunday) 13:18
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flash Sync off between 40D and external strobes

 
00dahc
Senior Member
Avatar
466 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Feb 08, 2009 13:18 |  #1

I bought a few Britek AS strobes the other week and am finally getting around to playing with them.

I'm a little frustrated.

No matter what I do, I can't get the flashes to show up in the picture when triggering them with the onboard flash. I have tried every shutter speed and I messed with all of the controls in "Flash Control" Nada. Poop.

The flashes trigger, but seems to be before the camera starts to capture. I have 4 strobes, 2 different models... all fire but none show up, so I'd think it's not a defective strobe.

Using a sync cable of course works just fine.

Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.


Canon 7D | 70-200 f/4L IS | 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 30 EX f/1.4 | Sigma 50 EX f/2.8 Macro | Tokina 12-24 f/4 | 430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,273 posts
Gallery: 83 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 348
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Feb 08, 2009 13:29 |  #2

ETTL preflash?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ARadoman
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Apr 2006
     
Feb 08, 2009 14:47 |  #3

ETTL pre-flash is not allowing you to do that, but if you press FEC first, and then shutter, you'll be able to use external strobes. When you press FEC the pre-flash will fire (will also fire the external strobes) and you have to wait few seconds in order to external strobes become operational again, and then you press shutter.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RPCrowe
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,274 posts
Likes: 2118
Joined Nov 2005
Location: San Diego County, California, USA
     
Feb 08, 2009 14:48 as a reply to  @ oldvultureface's post |  #4

You won't be able to use your onboard flash as a trigger...

The onboard flash cannot effectively be used as a trigger for off camera strobes which use an optical slave such as the Britek and most other studio type strobes.

However, all is not lost, you can trigger your Britek strobes using an inexpensive Yin Yan infrared trigger available on eBay. I have used this trigger for years to fire White Lightning WL-5000, Britek, and other strobes which fire through their built-in optical slave.

The Yin Yan is offered at intervals on eBay but doesn't appear to be offered at this moment. This is the item I am talking about:
http://www.trademe.co.​nz …ers/auction-197772835.htm (external link)

Another alternative would be to use a radio controlled trigger. However, the less expensive radio controlled triggers are not as reliable as the Yin Yan IR model. I have been using mine without fail for several years now and will buy a back-up unit as soon as I see one listed on eBay again.

By the way; you will of course need to use your camera on manual exposure and keep the shutter speed at 1/60 second. Although, you can sync hotshoe flashes at up to 1/250 second, you need to shoot at 1/60 second for studio strobes. This is no problem since the very short duration of the flash will freeze any movement.


See my images at http://rpcrowe.smugmug​.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ARadoman
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Apr 2006
     
Feb 08, 2009 14:53 |  #5

ARadoman wrote in post #7281798 (external link)
ETTL pre-flash is not allowing you to do that, but if you press FEC first, and then shutter, you'll be able to use external strobes. When you press FEC the pre-flash will fire (will also fire the external strobes) and you have to wait few seconds in order to external strobes become operational again, and then you press shutter.

Sorry, it was FEL, not FEC.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
00dahc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
466 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Feb 08, 2009 15:49 |  #6

Thanks for the info guys.

I will look into your suggestions... might be an excuse to pick up a 430EX


Canon 7D | 70-200 f/4L IS | 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 30 EX f/1.4 | Sigma 50 EX f/2.8 Macro | Tokina 12-24 f/4 | 430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
00dahc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
466 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Feb 08, 2009 16:08 |  #7

RPCrowe wrote in post #7281802 (external link)
The onboard flash cannot effectively be used as a trigger for off camera strobes which use an optical slave such as the Britek and most other studio type strobes.

However, all is not lost, you can trigger your Britek strobes using an inexpensive Yin Yan infrared trigger available on eBay. I have used this trigger for years to fire White Lightning WL-5000, Britek, and other strobes which fire through their built-in optical slave.

The Yin Yan is offered at intervals on eBay but doesn't appear to be offered at this moment. This is the item I am talking about:
http://www.trademe.co.​nz …ers/auction-197772835.htm (external link)

Another alternative would be to use a radio controlled trigger. However, the less expensive radio controlled triggers are not as reliable as the Yin Yan IR model. I have been using mine without fail for several years now and will buy a back-up unit as soon as I see one listed on eBay again.

By the way; you will of course need to use your camera on manual exposure and keep the shutter speed at 1/60 second. Although, you can sync hotshoe flashes at up to 1/250 second, you need to shoot at 1/60 second for studio strobes. This is no problem since the very short duration of the flash will freeze any movement.

Do you think this would work?

http://cgi.ebay.com …%3A1%7C293%3A1%​7C294%3A50 (external link)

Cheap enough. I'm not sure if my strobes can trigger via infrared? Britek AS-201's. I'm new to the lighting part of photography. :)


Canon 7D | 70-200 f/4L IS | 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 30 EX f/1.4 | Sigma 50 EX f/2.8 Macro | Tokina 12-24 f/4 | 430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,269 views & 0 likes for this thread
Flash Sync off between 40D and external strobes
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mike1911
879 guests, 242 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.