Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 23 Feb 2009 (Monday) 20:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Do I have to buy a CyberSync receiver???

 
CanonLaw
Senior Member
Avatar
633 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Tacoma
     
Feb 23, 2009 20:43 |  #1

So, I am looking into doing some portraits, just to play around with off camera lighting, umbrellas, etc. I don't want to spend a ton of money on it and not end up using them, so I pose the following question.

The CyberSync transmitter has an output on it for a mini-phono jack or something like that right? Can I just get a mini-jack splitter and then two 25' extension cords to hook up to my 580ex and 430ex (with the shoe mount adapter).

The difference is $110 vs $230, so I was thinking I could save the money, play around with it corded for a while, see how I like it, then spring for the two receivers.

Of course, I have no idea if this would work. Please advise.

Oh, and I know my 30D has a PC jack on it, but I hate using it. In my limited experience, it has been a very weak connection, even after you tweak it, it still comes loose.

Thanks!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
Avatar
13,313 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2007
Location: South Dakota
     
Feb 23, 2009 20:53 |  #2

Do you mean you want to use both flashes off of one receiver? If that is your question, the answer is yes. With a Y splitter you can connect two flashes to the on receiver. The flashes need to have a fairly similar trigger voltage though, or one of the flashes could be damaged. The 580 and 430 have a very similar trigger voltage, so you would be fine.

If you are talking about not even having a receiver (as your question seems to be worded), then no. You must have a transmitter and a receiver.


Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund
https://photography-on-the.net …php?p=9903477#p​ost9903477
POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds


Full Gear List & Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
Avatar
13,313 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2007
Location: South Dakota
     
Feb 23, 2009 20:55 |  #3

Also, be sure to get mono cords and splitters, not stereo.


Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund
https://photography-on-the.net …php?p=9903477#p​ost9903477
POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds


Full Gear List & Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CanonLaw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
633 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Tacoma
     
Feb 23, 2009 20:59 |  #4

DDCSD wrote in post #7392014 (external link)
Do you mean you want to use both flashes off of one receiver? If that is your question, the answer is yes. With a Y splitter you can connect two flashes to the on receiver. The flashes need to have a fairly similar trigger voltage though, or one of the flashes could be damaged. The 580 and 430 have a very similar trigger voltage, so you would be fine.

If you are talking about not even having a receiver (as your question seems to be worded), then no. You must have a transmitter and a receiver.

Sorry if my wording was a bit confusing. I knew you could get a transmitter and receiver, and then run two flashes off one receiver, but I thought the CST transmitter had an output so I could use two long mono cords to the flashes to try it before I buy a receiver, but it sounds like I need to buy a transmitter and receiver. If that is the case, then I might as well buy two receivers, because the difference between that and one receiver and a bunch of cords is only like $40.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
Avatar
13,313 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2007
Location: South Dakota
     
Feb 23, 2009 21:12 |  #5

That is actually an input on the CST, not an output.

I'm confused. Were you wanting to buy just a single CST, and use the CST mounted on the camera to connect the cables to?


Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund
https://photography-on-the.net …php?p=9903477#p​ost9903477
POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds


Full Gear List & Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
18,863 posts
Likes: 1057
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Feb 23, 2009 21:19 |  #6

What output on CST? I don't see one on my CST.

Here is link to AB site. I still see no output on the Tx.

http://www.alienbees.c​om/cybersync.html#cst (external link)

Any why would you buy a Tx only and then run Y cable to 2 flash. Don't get what you trying to proof or do.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
opus13
Senior Member
Avatar
450 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Longmont, Colorado
     
Feb 23, 2009 21:41 |  #7

yep, a sender needs a receiver. the jack on the transmitter is a input.

if you have 2 flashes you can get 1 receiver and 1 optical slave (external link)


mah stuff (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CanonLaw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
633 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Tacoma
     
Feb 23, 2009 21:43 |  #8

bobbyz wrote in post #7392207 (external link)
What output on CST? I don't see one on my CST.

Here is link to AB site. I still see no output on the Tx.

http://www.alienbees.c​om/cybersync.html#cst (external link)

Any why would you buy a Tx only and then run Y cable to 2 flash. Don't get what you trying to proof or do.

I must have mistaken the input on there for an output. Basically, I want to go wireless I think, and have a transmitter and receiver. But, I was wanting to use the Transmitter as an expensive hotshoe to mono plug adapter, try it wired up and then get the receivers down the line if I really like doing this stuff.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CanonLaw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
633 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Tacoma
     
Feb 23, 2009 21:44 |  #9

opus13 wrote in post #7392393 (external link)
yep, a sender needs a receiver. the jack on the transmitter is a input.

if you have 2 flashes you can get 1 receiver and 1 optical slave (external link)

I thought about the optical slave, but if I use this where other people are, then it will get triggered by other flashes, although it would be a cheap way to start out. I may have to consider it!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CanonLaw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
633 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Tacoma
     
Feb 23, 2009 21:50 |  #10

opus13 wrote in post #7392393 (external link)
yep, a sender needs a receiver. the jack on the transmitter is a input.

if you have 2 flashes you can get 1 receiver and 1 optical slave (external link)

Just out of curiosity, what is the range on the optical slaves when used indoors?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CanonLaw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
633 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Tacoma
     
Feb 23, 2009 21:55 |  #11

Ok, i remembered one of the reasons I did not want to get optical slaves. I have a 580ex and 430ex, so I can already wirelessly fire them both, but the 580 has to be more or less on the camera (i could get an ettl cord, but then I would have to hold it). I wanted to get both flashes off camera.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
opus13
Senior Member
Avatar
450 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Longmont, Colorado
     
Feb 24, 2009 01:02 |  #12

I've never tried more than ~16 feet, but it worked just fine


mah stuff (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,400 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 11
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Kalama, WA USA
     
Feb 24, 2009 02:45 |  #13

Just a bit of confusion I think. The newer Cybersync transmitter does have an input jack, not an output. You will need either one transmitter and one receiver or 2 receivers. Since receivers are more expensive than transmitters that wouldn't make any sense to save money.

So unless you run cables you are stuck with only one off-camera flash. You could cable one flash to the camera via PC cable and fire the second flash with an optical trigger.


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
18,863 posts
Likes: 1057
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Feb 24, 2009 08:40 |  #14

Thanks Dave.

But I am still confused as to what OP wants to do. If he wants to fire 2 off camera flashes then he should get 1 tx and 2 rx. If it is too much money then get ebay triggers. What is the point of buying 1 tx or 1 rx and running wires to the flash if you want to go wireless? Why not run sync cords to begin with. To me it seems like he is trying to see for himself if the cybersync would work for him or not.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tagvestibule
Senior Member
Avatar
253 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2007
     
Feb 24, 2009 09:38 |  #15

DDCSD wrote in post #7392029 (external link)
Also, be sure to get mono cords and splitters, not stereo.

Is this because it won't work, or because it's potentially harmful in some way. I'm asking because I am currently using 1 cybersync receiver to fire a 430ex and 580exII with a stereo headphone splitter I had laying around. I understand the cybersyncs use mono cables (i.e., 1 black ring), but my stereo splitter still works perfectly. I will, however, pick up a mono splitter if I may be damaging something.


jsarnerphoto.com (external link) 5D III/1D IV |300 2.8L IS | 70-200 2.8L IS | 24-105 f/4L | 85 1.8 | 135 2.0L | Sigma 50 1.4 | Tokina 16-28 | Zeiss Sonnar 85 2.8 | Zeiss Planar 50 1,7 | FOR SALE: 100-400 | Sigma 30mm 1.4 | 7D Body | 5D MK II Body| EF-S 17-55 2.8 IS | Sigma 10-20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,014 views & 0 likes for this thread
Do I have to buy a CyberSync receiver???
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is atticusjuea
410 guests, 337 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.