Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 02 Mar 2009 (Monday) 09:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

'brand new 50D' with 4472 actuations on shutter count! is this normal?

 
Froggeh
Senior Member
339 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Mar 02, 2009 09:00 |  #1

or have I been sold someone else's camera?

sorry for the short post, just wondering if anyone else has tried this on a new 50D/40D/5dII and what it reported?


5D & 50D | 17-40 f/4L | Asahi Pentax SMC Takumar 35 f/2 | Pentacon 135 f/2.8 Preset | Minolta Rokkor 50/1.4 and 58/1.4 | Tamron 90mm | 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS | 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,674 posts
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Mar 02, 2009 09:04 |  #2
bannedPermanent ban

You have, most likely, used memory card previously used in some other camera, without formatting it in the computer first.
Nothing to worry about..


What we see depends mainly on what we look for.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rebel450D_Addict
Goldmember
Avatar
1,097 posts
Joined Jul 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
     
Mar 02, 2009 09:04 |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

Where did you buy it?


-=Armada=-
Flickr Crew (external link)
My Flickr (external link)
My Twitter (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
basroil
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,015 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2006
Location: STL/Clayton, MO| NJ
     
Mar 02, 2009 09:05 |  #4

if you got it from a reputable dealer, you should send it back. If you got it from a local store, go and complain, maybe they will give you a discount for your troubles. If you got it at the junktastic internet, your own fault.

EDIT: This only applies if you used the 50d cancount software not if you are looking at file numbers


I don't hate macs or OSX, I hate people and statements that portray them as better than anything else. Macs are A solution, not THE solution. Get a good desktop i7 with Windows 7 and come tell me that sucks for photo or video editing.
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Froggeh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
339 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Mar 02, 2009 09:12 |  #5

sorry, I should clarify. I was using http://astrojargon.net​/40DShutterCount.aspx (external link), which has given me accurate count with a 0-4 base on other camera bodies I've used it on.


5D & 50D | 17-40 f/4L | Asahi Pentax SMC Takumar 35 f/2 | Pentacon 135 f/2.8 Preset | Minolta Rokkor 50/1.4 and 58/1.4 | Tamron 90mm | 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS | 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,674 posts
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Mar 02, 2009 09:15 |  #6
bannedPermanent ban

That’s another story!
Send it back if you can..


What we see depends mainly on what we look for.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
54,092 posts
Likes: 1593
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Mar 02, 2009 09:43 |  #7

I agree, if shuttercount is showing over 4k actuation, I'd call the dealer for sure and work it through them. If the body is sold as new, I would expect mo more than a few actuation that could have occurred at the factory as a final sanity test. 4000 sounds like way too many.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Cash
Member
Avatar
161 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
     
Mar 02, 2009 12:32 |  #8

I do not know what the magic number of shutter actuations when a camera goes from new to used, but I am pretty sure that 4k actuations should be sold as used. I would assume a few clicks at the factory and maybe a few at the store. I got a brand new 5D and it had 0 actuations on it. Send it back or get some money back.


My Gear List
_______________

www.cashmoneyphotograp​hy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
54,092 posts
Likes: 1593
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Mar 02, 2009 13:15 |  #9

I believe that there is no way to tell the number of actuations a 5D has that I am aware of. if you know a method to find out, I'm sure many would appreciate that info.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
p/g
Member
157 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Irvine, CA USA
     
Mar 02, 2009 15:29 |  #10

gjl711 wrote in post #7438666 (external link)
I believe that there is no way to tell the number of actuations a 5D has that I am aware of. if you know a method to find out, I'm sure many would appreciate that info.

The only way I know of (previous 5D) is to take to Canon and they will do it for free in addition to a sensor clean. I'm fortunate to live down the street from one; others may not be fortunate and may have to ship it to obtain this data. I'm sure this applies to the 50D as well.

As someone mentioned, if you did not format the card, you may carry over the information from a previous camera. If you confirmed the count, I would definitely return it!

Good luck,
John


7D | 5D | 17-40L | 70-200L II | 35L | 50L | 1.4x II | 580EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gmkelm
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
18 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: SE Minnesota, USA
     
Mar 02, 2009 17:29 as a reply to  @ p/g's post |  #11

4K images on a "new" body makes it a "used" body. Send it back for a new one.

Mark


G. Mark Kelm
EOS 50D
Nikon FG
Powershot G10
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/gmkelm/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jpiano
Goldmember
Avatar
1,324 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
     
Mar 03, 2009 02:23 |  #12

gmkelm wrote in post #7440476 (external link)
4K images on a "new" body makes it a "used" body. Send it back for a new one.

Mark


I agree!


Piano:DMan
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Super-Nicko
Goldmember
Avatar
1,652 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
     
Mar 03, 2009 02:28 |  #13

especially if its from somewhere like JB HIFI where every man and his dog and brothers auntys sister in law has poked their fingers in the mirror box assembly


My gallery - just posted some of my top shots (external link)
1DmkIII / 5DMKII [50mm f1.4] [85mm f1.8] [100mm f2.8 MACRO] [17-40mm f/4L] [24-70mm f/2.8L USM] [24-105mm f/4L IS USM] [COLOR=black][COLOR=bl​ack][[COLOR=black]100-400mm f/4.5-f 5.6L IS USM] Canon 1.4xII - Speedlite 580EXII - EPSON P-5000 - Lowepro Bags - Manfrotto 682B Monopod & 055XproB Tripod - 488RC2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ejicon
Goldmember
Avatar
1,916 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
     
Mar 03, 2009 02:37 |  #14

gjl711 wrote in post #7438666 (external link)
I believe that there is no way to tell the number of actuations a 5D has that I am aware of. if you know a method to find out, I'm sure many would appreciate that info.


http://digital-photography-school.com/forum/showt​hread.php?t=196 (external link)

I still have yet to try it.


5D & 30D| Canon 16-35ii f/2.8 L USM| Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L USM | Canon EF 100 f/ 2.8 Macro USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TaDa
...as cool as Perry
Avatar
6,742 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: New York
     
Mar 03, 2009 08:15 |  #15

Doesn't work for a 5D.


Name is Peter and here is my gear:
Canon 5D II, Canon 7D, Canon 40D
Glass - Zeiss 21 f/2.8 ZE, Canon 35 f/1.4L, Canon 40 f/2.8 STM, Canon 24-70 f/2.8
L, Canon 85 f/1.2L II, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, Canon 500 f/4L IS
Speedlite 580ex II, 430ex - Gitzo GT-3541XLS w/ Arca B1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,627 views & 0 likes for this thread
'brand new 50D' with 4472 actuations on shutter count! is this normal?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is brotherbear86
812 guests, 273 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.