Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 03 Mar 2009 (Tuesday) 20:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1D3 necessary for PJ?

Zander ­ Albertson
359 posts
Joined Jun 2008

Mar 03, 2009 20:51 |  #1

Currently I have the Mark II and 1D, and the 70-200 2.8, 17-40 and 50 1.8. I am a freelance photographer covering mostly HS sports but also some spot and general news. I am planning on buying a 300 2.8 and making the 17-40 a 16-35, and after that I will have some $$ left for another body. Right now I am really tempted by the 1D3 - I could really use the ISO 6400 for the high school caves I shoot sports in, and the IQ and look of the files from the 1D3 are really tempting. But on the other hand, the 1D2 I have now does the job. It doesn't to it super well at 3200, but it works for the newsprint my work get published on. Either way, I would really like to get a 2nd body that can do at east 1600 comfortably, as the 1D is pushing it there.

So really the question is, is the 1D3 as "necessity" for PJ/sports work, or am I just being a gear head and desiring it when the 1D2 could do the job just fine?

Interested in hearing your opinions.
Thanks in advance!
Zander

Editorial Photographer, Canon Digital.

sponsored links
JX
508 posts
Joined Aug 2004

Mar 03, 2009 22:25 |  #2