Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff Forum Talk 
Thread started 02 Apr 2009 (Thursday) 15:45
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Missing bits in Firefox

 
scrumpy
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Apr 02, 2009 15:45 |  #1

Using Firefox I suddenly have no "New Topic" button at the top of a section.

The "Quote" button is missing from every post.

What's going on?

Using IE to post this.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Pete
I was "Prime Mover" many years back....
Avatar
38,621 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Berkshire, UK
     
Apr 02, 2009 15:48 |  #2

Try resetting your cache in Firefox

Tools->Clear Private Data.


Pete
UK SE Catch of the Day

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Apr 02, 2009 16:53 |  #3

Nope - didn't work. I'll log out and in again, see if that works.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Apr 02, 2009 17:00 |  #4

That didn't help - in IE everything is normal. Just noticed with Firefox there are no Post Icons or Smilies showing in the "Advanced" bit.

Shutting down shortly - may be better in the morning?


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Apr 03, 2009 02:44 |  #5

Friday am. The problems described above are still there.

Also, the small blue box with the white tick indicating threads I have contributed to is missing. So I am stuffed as far a Firefox is concerned.

Looking for suggestions please.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DennisW1
Goldmember
Avatar
1,802 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Chicago, IL area
     
Apr 03, 2009 03:14 |  #6

scrumpy wrote in post #7653790 (external link)
Using Firefox I suddenly have no "New Topic" button at the top of a section.

The "Quote" button is missing from every post.

What's going on?

Using IE to post this.

When you're in Firefox, does the forum show you as logged in? Sounds like it doesn't think so.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Apr 03, 2009 04:30 |  #7

Yes Dennis. I'm automatically logged in as usual. I have checked the Firefox settings and can't see that anything has changed. Thanks for the suggestion.

I may try to contact Firefox later and see what they say.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Apr 08, 2009 09:05 |  #8

Never did find a solution to my initial problem.

Now using Google Chrome which works well and has a few nice extras.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GoneTomorrow
Goldmember
Avatar
1,135 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
     
Apr 08, 2009 09:09 |  #9

Try reinstalling Firefox.


Canon 5D Mk II (35/1.4L | 24-70/2.8L | 135/2L | Euro Nifty | 430EX II | Gitzo G1125 + 494RC2) flickr (external link)

I bought a new camera. It's very advanced - you don't even need it. ~Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Apr 09, 2009 02:32 |  #10

GoneTomorrow wrote in post #7690769 (external link)
Try reinstalling Firefox.


Thanks. I did that after a complete uninstall, it made no difference.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GoneTomorrow
Goldmember
Avatar
1,135 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
     
Apr 09, 2009 07:12 |  #11

scrumpy wrote in post #7696116 (external link)
Thanks. I did that after a complete uninstall, it made no difference.

Weird, can't find a similar instance from Google. Does this happen on other forums who use vBulletin?


Canon 5D Mk II (35/1.4L | 24-70/2.8L | 135/2L | Euro Nifty | 430EX II | Gitzo G1125 + 494RC2) flickr (external link)

I bought a new camera. It's very advanced - you don't even need it. ~Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,986 posts
Likes: 361
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 16, 2009 20:18 |  #12

Could be an extension like adblock is messing with things.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,461 views & 0 likes for this thread
Missing bits in Firefox
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff Forum Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Ivy Yeh
653 guests, 256 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.