Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 05 Apr 2009 (Sunday) 16:15
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

PSCS3: Excluding a layer from 'Adjustment Layer'

 
andrewaaa5
Goldmember
Avatar
1,225 posts
Joined Sep 2004
Location: scandinavia
     
Apr 05, 2009 16:15 |  #1

Lets say I have this in Photoshop CS3:

Layer1: Adjustment Layer (Curves)
Layer2: isolated image
Layer3: isolated image
Layer4: Black Background (# 000000)
Layer5: Locked (white) Background (not visible in the final image)

I want the Adjustment layer (Layer1) to affect the 'isolated image' layers, but I do not want the black background (layer 4) to be affected by the Adjustment layer. Is this possible?

[[Reason for this: The curves in the adjustment layer are making my black background turn grey :(]]


andrew crighton
website -- > www.butterpeanut.com (external link)
flickr -- > flickr/photos/andrewaa​a5 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Damo77
Goldmember
Avatar
4,674 posts
Likes: 110
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
     
Apr 05, 2009 16:34 |  #2

Select Layers 1, 2 and 3 together, then choose Layer > Group Layers.

You'll see the blend mode of the new "Group 1" in the layers palette is set to "Pass Through". Change that to "Normal".


Damien
Website (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
75,941 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2578
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Apr 05, 2009 21:25 |  #3

As you've seen, an adjustment Layer (AL) affects ALL layers beneath it. You can avoid that by Grouping (locking) the AL only to the layer below it by Alt-clicking between the AL & the layer below it. You'll see a little down arrow in the AL after you do that.
A Group can be unlocked by Alt-clicking between the layers again.
So another way you could do it would be to dupe the AL & use one for each of Layers 2 & 3. This would allow you to tweak each one later if you needed to.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,009 posts
Likes: 368
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 05, 2009 21:33 |  #4

The alt-click between layers works for single layers as well as groups, FYI.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Apr 06, 2009 03:16 |  #5

I'd use Damo's method, since if you group Layer2: isolated image and Layer3: isolated image in the OP's example, that would only show Layer 3 where there's also content in layer 2...


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
andrewaaa5
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,225 posts
Joined Sep 2004
Location: scandinavia
     
Apr 08, 2009 14:23 |  #6

Great - works a treat. Thanks for all the advise.


andrew crighton
website -- > www.butterpeanut.com (external link)
flickr -- > flickr/photos/andrewaa​a5 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,723 views & 0 likes for this thread
PSCS3: Excluding a layer from 'Adjustment Layer'
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is twistedsugarphotography
654 guests, 193 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.