Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 05 Jun 2009 (Friday) 08:08
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help! testing cybersyncs

 
Joe300
Senior Member
Avatar
519 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Location: WV, SC, VA & NY
     
Jun 05, 2009 08:08 |  #1

Well if anybody out there can help, I believe the two sigma's will not work with the cybersyncs together..... I hope I am wrong..

What I have is two Sigma flash units one 500 super and the other a 530 super.
What I am getting is the flashes will not fire togehter. one will fire off and the other will fire on the next frame.
I think after the fifth farme they both fired. If I turn one off the one work ok, then the other...ok. but not together.
I covered the slave eye and have it turned off...too.
I then used a sunpak 622 unit and they both worked fine....both fire together... sunpak and one Sigma.

only the two sigma will not fire. cybersyncs where moved form flash to flash and cables were moved form flash to flash and still the sigma would not fire together....

thanks for any help in this matter,
Joe


A lot of Canon gear=300D & 1Dmkiii, Lens and some studio gear,
WL x1600 etc.
Two Bronica SQ-Ai outfit too! 'Old School'
www.joelaroccaphotogra​phy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,434 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jun 05, 2009 08:31 |  #2

Do the flash fire all the time if you press test button on the cybersync Rx attached to that flash?


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Joe300
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
519 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Location: WV, SC, VA & NY
     
Jun 05, 2009 08:42 |  #3

Bobbyz,
Yes, Only one at a time, that is what is gettign me crazy all test and fire, even if I have the cst in my hand... I hit the test button on each unit it fires. then use the cst tranmitter and one fires then I hit the button again and the other fires. but not together.

My firend is going to let me use his canon 430 flash unit today so I am trying that out next....

Joe
Camera 40D and 300d.


A lot of Canon gear=300D & 1Dmkiii, Lens and some studio gear,
WL x1600 etc.
Two Bronica SQ-Ai outfit too! 'Old School'
www.joelaroccaphotogra​phy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
19,434 posts
Likes: 1614
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jun 05, 2009 09:17 |  #4

OK.

1. Start with just 1 flash. Connect Rx to it. Press Test button on Rx. Flash fire all the time.

2. Now press test button on Tx. Flash should fire all the time.

3. Repeat above steps with your 2nd flash with 1st one off. It should flash everytime.

4. Now power both flash and try above. Both flashes should fire. Don't know what is special in how Sigma flahs work. Are bothf lash in the manual mode?


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
13,098 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 616
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Jun 05, 2009 09:23 as a reply to  @ bobbyz's post |  #5

Add this precaution to the steps above: Cover the optical sync receptors of the flash units so that they get no other signal except from the Rx units.


TANSTAAFL--The Only Unbreakable Rule in Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Joe300
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
519 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Location: WV, SC, VA & NY
     
Jun 05, 2009 09:32 |  #6

RDKirk,
I think maybe this is what I need to do next...If I remeber that I did cover one unit but not both.... and when I used the sunpak 622 unit I did cover the sigma. and it worked ok.

bobbyz,

1. yes works
2. yes works
3. yes works
4. manual mode but on slave mode C1 SL not C0 on both...
here is what I did for both units.....http://flashzebra.com …gmamanualmode/i​ndex.shtml (external link)

I might do all the steps again this weekend just to make sure.

thanks,
Joe


A lot of Canon gear=300D & 1Dmkiii, Lens and some studio gear,
WL x1600 etc.
Two Bronica SQ-Ai outfit too! 'Old School'
www.joelaroccaphotogra​phy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

693 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help! testing cybersyncs
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dayuan99
1929 guests, 207 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.