Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 26 Jun 2009 (Friday) 18:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

quick question on running 580EX II as slave to studio strobes

 
Underscore
Senior Member
309 posts
Joined Jul 2008
     
Jun 26, 2009 18:25 |  #1

I know this has been asked and answered a hundred times. I will ask this so a simply yes or no will suffice for the experts.

I am setting up my in home studio tomorrow and plan to use my 580EX II as a hair light strobe overhead behind my subject.

My question is, if I put it in SLAVE mode on manual, then if I fire the strobes (Novatrons), will it fire the 580EX II, assuming it is in range of the strobes (5 ft. away) with nothing blocking the line of sight for the SLAVE sensor on the 580EXII? I am trying to avoid using another PW on the 580EX.

Thanks for any advice.
Pat




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tjongkristian
Member
166 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
     
Jun 26, 2009 18:33 |  #2

No. The slave mode on 580EX II works exclusively with other Canon Speedlite. The triggering is based on a series of pulse light from another Speedlite or ST-E2. You need another PW or an optical trigger to trigger the 580EXII. Another thought, you can use a sync cable to connect the camera to the 580EXII (in manual mode). The light from 580EXII will trigger the slave on your studio strobe. This way, you do not need to get another PW or optical trigger. Hope it helps.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Underscore
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
309 posts
Joined Jul 2008
     
Jun 26, 2009 18:49 |  #3

Well, I do have an optical slave, but since the small softbox I am attaching will be angled down as a hair light, I doubt the line of sight from that will be good enough from the strobes, so I will just go the PW route.

Thanks for the advice and info.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,977 views & 0 likes for this thread
quick question on running 580EX II as slave to studio strobes
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is the_LAD
961 guests, 334 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.