Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Nature & Landscapes Talk 
Thread started 29 Jun 2009 (Monday) 14:03
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Badlands & Black Hills trip next week, help me pack!

anothernewb
361 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jan 2009

Jun 29, 2009 14:03 |  #1

my first "excursion" with the slr. Family vacation. As i'm still somewhat new with the gear - rather than try too many things at once, my priority is going to be to try and get a few landscape photos in. I've got my faithful A610 for the snapshots and the "must haves" (as it's still way smarter than I am) but will also be trying the xs out as well.

I've been doing some reading and practicing to get a feel for what works best, and have been trying to memorize the HFD for the kit lens so simplify thinking about that in the field.

Here's the gear list that's coming along with me.

XS, kit lens, charger
55-250
CPL
4x ND filter
tripod
monopod
lot's o baggies incase of dusty or rainy conditions
pack of microfiber cleaning cloths
4x 4gb cards
4x 2gb cards
laptop (xtra storage)

I have the 50 1.8 and a flash too - a
dd them or leave them?
my luck with the flash has been about 3 in 5 for indoor portraits and snapshots. I love the sharpness of the 50, but I want to concentrate more on using the camera, and not swapping lenses. but then again maybe it's worth it for landcapes if I don't mind a slightly narrower field of view.