Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 30 Jul 2009 (Thursday) 12:47
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Anyone Know...

 
scrumpy
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Jul 30, 2009 12:47 |  #1

why I get two pointers on the EC gauge when I increase the exposure by say 1 stop?
I'm pretty sure there was only always only one.

I have always shot in RAW, but today I wanted a few quick JPEGs so used the full auto mode and every shot was under exposed. This is on the 400D.

Any suggestions please?


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
arkphotos
Senior Member
455 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Plano, Texas
     
Jul 30, 2009 12:50 |  #2

you have exposure bracketing on ?


1.6 crop & some lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Jul 30, 2009 12:59 |  #3

arkphotos wrote in post #8369700 (external link)
you have exposure bracketing on ?

No, just checked, but thanks.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChrisGorabPhotography
Goldmember
Avatar
1,572 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Nov 2007
Location: NJ, USA
     
Jul 30, 2009 13:12 |  #4

arkphotos wrote in post #8369700 (external link)
you have exposure bracketing on ?

That was going to be my guess also. Peculiar.


-Chris (also formally known as "imtrashed" if searching feedback thread)
GEAR LIST/FEEDBACK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Traumuh
Member
219 posts
Joined Jun 2009
     
Jul 30, 2009 13:17 |  #5

The only way I get that is to increase the exposure compensation by a 1/2 stop, which you can set in custom functions. This is what you are seeing if you have that function set, can't remember which one.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,149 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5907
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jul 30, 2009 13:29 |  #6

EC doesn't work at all in full auto green box mode, does exposure bracketing?


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scrumpy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,664 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, England
     
Jul 30, 2009 13:29 |  #7

Traumuh wrote in post #8369870 (external link)
The only way I get that is to increase the exposure compensation by a 1/2 stop, which you can set in custom functions. This is what you are seeing if you have that function set, can't remember which one.

Thanks Traumuh - seems to have sorted it, but couldn't fine any mention of it in the manual.


David: Canon EOS 400D - Canon EF70-300mm f/4-55.6 IS USM -Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 DC Macro - Sigma 50-500 'Bigma' - Speedlite 580EX 11 - Better Beamer
Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy ;)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Traumuh
Member
219 posts
Joined Jun 2009
     
Jul 30, 2009 15:59 |  #8

I looked it up. On the XTi it's CF6, you likely have it set to adjust EV in 1/2 stop increments. I use 1/2 stop increments on my 30D. :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

861 views & 0 likes for this thread
Anyone Know...
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Sacramento Taxi
781 guests, 292 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.