Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 10 Aug 2009 (Monday) 13:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Handstrap for shooting horizontally and vertically?

Rocktoe
303 posts
Joined Dec 2008

Aug 10, 2009 13:56 |  #1

Hi, I'm thinking of getting a hand strap since the neck strap just seems to get in the way of shooting too much... Are there hand straps that one can use both horizontally and vertically in a sensible way with a gripped camera? I'm a total newbie with them and haven't even seen one live so if this question is amazingly dumb, please let me know. ;)

Look behind you! A three-lensed camera!

450D | Sigma EF 530 DG ST Flash | Canon 50mm f1.4 | Canon 85mm f1.8 | Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5 DC Macro | Canon 70-200 f2.8L |

sponsored links
dle42
153 posts
Joined Jan 2008

Aug 11, 2009 02:35 |  #2

For that to work, It seems to me that you'd need two handstraps, and to devise a contraption that screws into the grip's tripod mount that provides the second mounting place for the strap. Other than that... you'll probably have to make do with a hand strap working in one orientation only.

Gear

bohdank
Cream of the Crop
14,060 posts
Joined Jan 2008

Aug 11, 2009 06:49 |  #3

Which would suck and defeat the reason I have a grip. It might work for you, though.

Bohdan - I may be, and probably am, completely wrong.
Gear List

Montreal Concert, Event and Portrait Photographer (external link)
Flickr (external link)

Rocktoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
303 posts
Joined Dec 2008

Aug 11, 2009 10:21 |  #4