Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 12 Aug 2009 (Wednesday) 08:52
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

why not a 28-135?

shooter ­ mcgavin
526 posts
Joined Nov 2007

Aug 12, 2009 08:52 |  #1

I'm going to look at buying a 20D that comes with a Canon 28-135. Focal lengths aside, is there any reason why I wouldn't be happy with this as a walk-about lens? I'm an intern at a studio, so any serious shooting I do will be with those lenses and cameras at the studio, but I still wanted a Canon myself (I switched to Nikon for a bit...).

Anyway, if I like the lens, I'll use it, but is there anything to look out for specifically with this lens or any reason why it wouldn't be the best choice? I figure if it has decent build, USM, full-time manual, and IS, those factors would outweigh the disadvantage of the variable aperture. I've had bad luck with non-Canon lenses, so I definitely feel more comfortable with this than something like a Sigma 24-70 or Tamron 28-75.

Does anyone have any experience using this lens as a walk-about lens, and what are your thoughts? Thanks!

sponsored links
KIP
74 posts
Joined Aug 2007

Aug 12, 2009 09:05 |  #2